Aghhhhhhhhhhh!!!!! Dead Imac!?!?!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by pianodude123, Dec 27, 2005.

  1. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #1
    SHOOT!

    Today, when I went to go start up my iMac G3, and pushed the button, nothing happens. Nothing at all. I've checked the power cable and connection, and made sure it is secure in the back of the computer. Does this mean the computer is totally dead? It was working fine before, but it was asleep when I left it last, and when I came back, the power cord was unplugged. If it died, which I hope not, at least it died in its sleep! :(:( :( :( :
     
  2. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #2
    Easy there with the emoticons sir! Was it subjected to anything out of the ordinary? Why was it unplugged? Or don't you know?
     
  3. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #3
    I think it was unplugged by accident...kicked out by someone...
     
  4. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #4
    Unplugging it while it is sleeping isnt that bad, is it?
     
  5. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #5
    *iMac

    Sorry...it annoys me...

    Have you tried resetting the PMU or whatever they call it, should be a good article on Apple somewhere on how to do it.
     
  6. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    Could be as simple as a dead PRAM battery -- esp. if the machine had not been shut down for a long tome, but just put to sleep.
     
  8. kwajaln macrumors 6502

    kwajaln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    CHICAGO!
    #8
    Do you know who kicked the plug out of the wall socket?
     
  9. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #9

    I cant reset the pram if it doesnt even turn on...Nothing happens, no lights, no motion, no HDs no sound...

    booo hooo.....tear tear...
     
  10. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #10
    Would that have symptoms similar to mine?
     
  11. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    Yup. If the PRAM battery is dead, the machine won't power on. It doesn't need the PRAM battery to 'jump start' the machine as long as it is only put to sleep. Batteries typically last 3 - 6 years depending on the usage of the machine. Was the machine losing the clock and/or network settings occasionally on shut down and restart, prior to this point?

    Of course it could be something entirely different like a blown analog board, but since the battery is a $12 part, it's worth the attempt. I 'think' it is a 1/2 AA 3.6V Lithium cell, but check lowendmac.com for details.
     
  12. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #12

    so...how exactly do i change this battery?
     
  13. richmlow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #13
    pianodude,


    You should not panic and conclude that your Imac G3 is dead.

    There could be a variety of reasons why your Mac does not power up. In no particular order:

    1. PMU needs to be reset.
    2. Power cord and/or adapter not securely plugged into port and outlet.
    3. Power cord and/or adapter is broken, and not the computer itself.
    4. Other possibilities.


    Go to Apple's Support section on their website. Search for help documents pertaining to the non-powering up of a macintosh.

    Good luck.


    richmlow


     
  14. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #14
    From apple's website:
    How does this have to do with mine not starting? Wouldnt it start...but just not retain its PMU settings?
     
  15. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #15
    You can get a PMU battery at radioshack for like $12. I'd recommend trying that.
     
  16. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #16
    The Mac relies on the battery keeping some of the circuits powered, so the soft boot-up process (the front panel switch or keyboard) can take place. If the battery is shot, then there is insufficient juice to initialize the circuits -- and the first casulties are the realtime clock, and then the video circuits (hence the black screen).

    But whatever. I'm not here to argue the point with you. Good luck. Bye.
     
  17. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #17
    Is your power strip on? Maybe that got switch off accidentally.
     
  18. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #18
    Plugged right into a direct outlet...same one my powermac is on....
     
  19. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
  20. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
  21. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #21
    Yes,

    And I won't offer them until you try CanadaRAM's suggestion. It is Valid, and you should try it first before going any deeper!
     
  22. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #22
    Wow, in less than an hour you've managed to bump this thread about 7 times asking for answers that people have already given you.

    The battery is your best bet. It's $12. There are a number of websites that I'm sure Google will lead you to that will help you if the link CanadaRAM gave you doesn't work. Try it, and if it doesn't work let us know.

    Or just bring it in to an Apple service provider (or Apple Store) and ask them.
     
  23. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #23
    Might not fix pianodude's issue, but this does at least explain why one of our G3 iMacs at work just won't boot anymore... or at least will sporadically. A battery change is in order, methinks.

    Check this out: http://www.academ.com/info/macintosh/

    and generally: http://theimac.com/
     
  24. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #24
    Okay...i have been trying RAM's suggestion, but before I try to open that mother, i want to do more searching to see if anyone else is having the same problem...:(


    Now,
    What is the best way for me to open up this beast, and replace this battery...???
     
  25. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #25
    Yes!!!!


    By God, The Ram Has Done It Again! Thanks A Million For Saving My Computer...you Are A God, Canadaram! I shouldnt have doubted your all so powerfullness! (wow, I suck at english grammar!)
     

Share This Page