Ahhh ! How Do I Open Ports ?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by maclova, Jan 11, 2003.

  1. maclova macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1
    as in my thread before i am addressing the issue of having a Charracho server and Airport internet connection...

    i have gotten so far that i know that i haveto open a few ports now i have about 2 more things I need help on...

    • if i pess the *add* button in the *port Mapping* section of the *Airport Admin Util* what do i type for *Public Port*, *Private Address* and *Prvate Port* ?

    and,

    •what do i do next ?



    •••WHY DOES NOBODY HELP/ANSWER ?•••
     
  2. Ziggyzee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    #2
    That's cause you really don't have to be a rocket scientist to figure that one out.
     
  3. maclova thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #3
    this is a *help* section ! not a *flame the dumb person* section... so please keep ur dumb remarks and help me !
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Private address is the IP address of the machine that is running the program. Note that this means that you need static IP addresses on your internal network. You need to Google search for the port number(s) used by Charracho as I don't know them
     
  5. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #5
    don't worry, ziggyzee feels compelled to make such comments to nearly everyone who asks for help...
     
  6. Ziggyzee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    #6
    When have I replied to anyone asking for help. I don't know jack about the the mac os right now, so I surely would not give help,

    I was referring to my question where macloc said to me...

    "LoL ! thats cuz you really dont need to be a rocket scientist to look at the *utils* folder and find out that there are quiete helpful apps in there
     
  7. maclova thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    ok, i opened the ports 6700, 6701 and 6702 (the ones that are required for the various things)... i am not sure if i did it the right way but i put the same for the upper and lower entries of the little box that appears and left the private address as it was... i still cant connect/administrator my server... any further help will be VERY greatly APPRECIATED !

    thanks robbieduncan for a USEFULL comment !

    -MACLOVA :)
     
  8. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #8
    my apologies. i recognized your name, and remembered the other thread where someone had responded in such a fashion to you (maclova) and thought it had been the other way around. in that case, you got what you deserved maclova.

    sorry again zig
     

Share This Page