Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LillieDesigns

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 18, 2005
Los Angeles
It stays open for about 30 seconds and then gives me an error message saying that the program quit unexpectantly...im new to macs so i dont know what to do...i drug the aim folder to the trash bin and deleted and re installed but its still faulty :(

theman5725

macrumors 6502
Aug 2, 2006
Why are you using AIM anyway? I use iChat and it works great for me.

BTW im new to mac too so may not know what im talking about. :/

LillieDesigns

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 18, 2005
Los Angeles
grr now im getting worried...ichat was getting set up and it showed me on camera for about .5 seconds and then it just went away :(

Chundles

macrumors G5
Jul 4, 2005
iChat is an Apple-made and supported front end for the AIM instant messaging protocol. Whatever you do, don't use the AOL AIM client - it's pure crap.

I would go so far to suggest Adium, you can customise it to within an inch of its life and it supports all kinds of protocols so you can talk to your AIM buddies and your Messenger buddies etc. from within the same program.

theman5725

macrumors 6502
Aug 2, 2006
just open up ichat and when it asks for ur sn and password put it in (assuming its your first time)

if its not ur first time using ichat go to ichat prefrences and add an account

CallMeTheArrow

macrumors regular
Apr 4, 2006
AOL written software (gasp)