Aim Prob

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by applemacdude, Dec 31, 2003.

  1. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #1
    I used to have aol 5.0 for os 9 and i had a "friend' which also used aol but for pc. When i made a new aim account outside aol and signed in into ichat she was never available. But when i sign up as my aol account she is availble. What s wrong?
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Re: Aim Prob

    Are you trying to access AIM (MacOS X) through a router?
     
  3. applemacdude thread starter macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #3
    No, but if this helps i have comcast high speed cable
     
  4. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    this is going to sound stupid, but is the screen name on your buddy list?
    if not, then i don't know the answer.
     
  5. theranch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    Atlantic City area
    #5
    ...you can use

    You can use your original aol screenname in ichat. If your "friend" still doesn't show then check the preferences for privacy. If that is ok then take the previous suggestion and see if your buddy list includes your "friend".
     
  6. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #6
    Are you sure your friend has "enabled" your new account to be her buddy? One of the AIM options is to not let anyone other than your buddies see your on-line status.

    But as others already pointed out - why not use your original account on the Mac? The accounts aren't tied to a specific computer.
     

Share This Page