Aim

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jer446, May 22, 2006.

  1. jer446 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #1
    I am so frustrated.. aim is a pos.. lately... anytime i log ønto aim.. about 30 seconds after i sign on.. i get kicked off.. and i get the error asking me if i want to reopen.. i have tried reinstalling several times.. setting the settings to default.. but no luck..
    I would use ichat or adium, but i never can get those to work for direct connections with my friends that use aim.. so what is wrong with aim??
     
  2. mrzeve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    #2
    Use spotlight to search for any files relating to aim, including temp files and settings. Delete them and then reinstall. Worked for me.

    Go get Adium ;)
     
  3. tkidBOSTON macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #3
    I am having the same problem with my dell at work. Only when I try to sign back on to AIM I get an error saying I am trying to sign on again too soon. The only remedy is to exit and try again in 15min.

    Things like this make me appreciate my Macs and iChat. :)
     
  4. jer446 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #4
    as i said though, i would gladly use ichat or adium, but the connect feature never seems to work.. if my friend wants to send me a file quickly.. i never can connect.. anyone know why?
     
  5. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #5

    Weird, I never have any issues with AIM (iChat) at home, or AIM on my PC at work....

    Maybe you need to open a port in your firewall for iChat to work properly...not sure....
     
  6. EEcuber17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois, US
    #6
    iChat always works for me.

    I just don't like how it reformats everything like text or my friend's profiles.
     
  7. iShane macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    You can change a setting so it doesn't do that I believe.
     
  8. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO

Share This Page