aiport extreme and lanlocked pc's!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by dipole, Jan 30, 2004.

1. dipole macrumors newbie

Hi. I am new to mac, I just got my ibook and airport base station a week ago. I am totally lost on how to configure my network.
    Background
    I have ppoe dsl modem. This is connected to my airport base station via the wan port. All is good, the iBook works without wires. The part I am having trouble with is the PC's via ethernet. I have an ethernet cable from the airport base stations ethernet port connected to a network hub. Also connected to this hub are 2 PC's running winxp. I had expected the base station to give those pc's a dynamic IP (as is configured via the airport admin utility), and thus they would be part of my happy network.

They are not being assigned ips, nor can they connect to the internet. Could someone please help me with this? I have read the "designing your network" pdf from apple, but I don't see my specific situation. Deja is also no help.

thanks

2. ftaok macrumors 601

ftaok

First things first.

Try plugging in one of your WinXP desktops directly into the AEBS ethernet port. This way, you'll narrow down the problem since I suspect it has something to do with the hub.

Perhaps the AEBS can't supply an IP address through a hub, in which case you might need to go with a full router or a switch.

Actually, I'm not to knowledgeable with switches and hubs. Just the basics. But if my suspicions are correct, if you eliminate the hub, the PCs will work.

3. tomf87 macrumors 65816

tomf87

Definitely don't put a router in there or you'll need to configure a DHCP Relay.