Air and Cinema Display (30 or 27)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by DenisK, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone tried this yet? Please post your experiences with external displays. I am contemplating an upgrade from my 2.2 / 4G MBP with 128M VRAM, as i find that it often chokes on simpliest HD movie files created with a DSLR (weekish video), regardless whether I use it with or without the 30 inch Cinema display. So, I am curious how the new Air will run an external monitor, and whether it has enough juice to at least display the HD movies shot with a DSLR without dropped frames/jerkiness. (I guess I am asking two questions in one).
    Thanks in advance and happy holidays!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #2
    I just played two 1080 HD clips I shot with my Canon T2i. No stuttering or jerkiness. I played the video using Quicktime and had it go full screen on my Cinema Display 27" over the mini display port.

    I have the 11.6" 1.6GHz model with 4GB of ram. CPU usage was in the 25% range.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #3
    Re-read your post. The Air should not be much of an upgrade (if any) for a 2.2GHz. The Air uses ULV Core 2 Duo chips (1.4 to 2.13GHz) that will be two generations behind once Sandy Bridge hits next month.

    Air does have an ok video card for what it is.

    I love my Air, it's quite capable, but I got it as a replacement for an iPad I left on an airplane. I have a 17" i5 MacBook Pro and an i7 Windows computer for anything requiring extra power, so the Air is a role player for me, not my main computer.

    For not that much more money, the base 15" MBP will be much more powerful than a souped up Air.

    13" Air makes no sense to me after seeing the 11" Air. I'd much rather have a 15" MBP than a 13" Air. Also, 2GB ram is also not a good idea with the Air.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #4
    Thank you both for your replies. I am not certain which way to go: whether to get the latest and greatest MBP with matte/high res/screen or the ultimate Air 11. Yet having had an MBP, I somehow tended to leave it always behind, opting for travels for a Black MB I also had, as its smaller. In other words, my needs are pulling me in the opposite directions: I would like to have an Air 11 for travels, and have the power of an 15MBP... Not sure which way to go. I also have a current 21 inch iMac, which seems to give me all i need in terms of power, it drives the Cinema at present. So, one can say that since I am settled in terms of power i need I should just shut up and get an Air 11 for the road... Happy Holidays!
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #5
    The 11" is truly portable.

    If you have other more powerful computers, than the Air makes sense. If this was going to be your main computer, I'd go 15" MBP.

    If all you had was an 11" Air, you are essentially going back 3-4 years in the computer world. You can do everything, but you will hit the limits sometimes.

    My 11" is a replacement for my lost iPad. No regrets and it's as portable as the iPad and FAR more capable. It's like a hinged iPad with a full OS.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    #6
    What about gaming at a 1080P resolution? I can imagine it will stutter probably, but has anyone tried it?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Derry, Northern Ireland, UK
    #7
    what about the air in clamshell mode? anybody tried it?

    i know when i put my old MBP in clamshell mode connected to my external monitor, wifi speeds dropped from 24mbs to 0.18mbs - anyone tried it with the air?
     
  8. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8
    I always use my 11" in clamshell mode connected to a display. My wifi speeds don't drop at all (though I am very close to the access point).
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    #9
    Yep i've been using mine in clamshell for a while today with no drop in wifi. Access point is like 10 metres away.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #10
    It is designed to work with the 27" ACD so no issues there or with any other 27" monitor. Get the 4GB versions which actually should be standard. You won't issues with the HD.

     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #11
    You are going by processor alone and there are other factors especially SSD.
    You won't see a Sandy Bridge Air for about a year.
    15" MBP is fine if you are willing to carry it as much as you would a 13" MBA. Most people won't. The MBA makes the MBP's look huge and feel like anchors.
    Obviously he can get an Air with 4GB of ram.
    By his stated use case he would be fine with a MBA.

     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #12
    Switched from a 13"MBP to the 11" air. Couldn't be happier. Truly portable. Found a neoprene case from stmbags.com which fits like a glove.

    One issue. I have a 27" Cinema display which works great with the MBA 11". Except, who's the idiot that designed the MBA with the power plug on one side and the mini Display port on the other? Connecting the wires is more difficult than it should be because of this. For a company that prides itself on its designs, this was a major oversight, IMO.
     

Share This Page