Air reformat help.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Xirurg, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. Xirurg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #1
    Guys, can I use Leopard disk that came with other mac to reformat it or it should be specifically air's disk?

    Thanks.
     
  2. slapguts macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #2
    You need the discs for the Air. The correct ones for you Rev. as well.

    Apple can supply replacements.
     
  3. macboy4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #3
    I went through this last weekend. I tried to use Rev A disks with Rev B MBA and it would not recognize Leopard.

    I have a theory (as yet uncorroborated) that you can use retail disks that are newer than the version of Mac you have, but you can't use disks from other computers.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    Nope, theory is wrong. You can use a Leopard 10.5 (no incremental updates) on a MBA.
     

Share This Page