Air Superdrive and Cinema Display usb hub

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by helium, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    I have my macbook air connected to a 23" apple cinema display. The superdrive doesn't work when connceted to the ACD's usb port, but works faultlessly when connected directly to my macbook air.

    does YOUR superdrive work when connected to the usb port of a cinema display?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    :rolleyes:

    The MBA external drive ONLY works with the MBA's special (higher powered) USB port.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #3
    That was what I originally thought

    But this morning I called apple care, informed them that my superdirve was not working when connected to the usb port of the cinema display, and they told me that it wasn't normal and arranged to have both my superdrive and cinema display replaced

    Could it be that the guy I spoke to on the phone just didn't know what he was talking about? Or is the superdrive really supposed to work even when connected through the usb hub of a cinema display?

    I really don't want to go through all the hassle of sending them back to apple and waiting for the new ones to arrive if exchanging them will not solve the problem
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    The guy you spoke to is an idiot. Hope you got his name, he was about to waste Apples money and your time.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #5
    could be... but I find it hard to believe



    could someone with a MBA, cinema display and superdrive kindly check if their superdrive also works only when connected directly to the macbook air, and not when connected through the ACD usb port? :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA, USA
    #6
    edesignuk is correct. The MBA USB port not a typical one, it is designed to deliver enough power to the USB superdrive. This superdrive will not work when plugged into standard USB ports. I don't have this configuration to test for you, but this information is all over the Mac news sites. Don't listen to the apple care guy.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    dahcheet

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #7
    I'm not sure if it's power output or what, but the Macbook Air Superdrive spec explicitly lists that it needs an MBA USB port to operate. There has been speculation that it's the power output or that the drivers are specific to the MBA but no one has a definite answer. All we know is that you cannot use the Macbook Air Superdrive in any USB port except the one on the Macbook Air.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #8
    Apple really should have put a small tag (removeable) on the MBA SuperDrive's USB cable that read "NOTE: This drive will only function if plugged directly into the USB port on your MacBook Air. No other USB port or USB hub will allow this SuperDrive to function correctly."

    They could have saved a lot of questions and possibly even some support calls or product servicing/replacement by doing this.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #9
    + 1

    with others on this thread. It explicitly states that this drive has a unique power rating through the usb.

    Unless you have some real problem with your ACD or Drive (cosmetic, functional or otherwise) - do not waste your time with the free gesture from the Apple rep....

    Would be nice if there was a "Hub" built onto the drive itself (they missed an opportunity on that one) - but maybe the look of a usb superdrive plugged into a MBA with other usb devices, plugged into the drive's "usb port" wouldnt look good !

    but still - for those times where you "need" it....
     
  10. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #10
    If you need a hub, go buy one. Dr. Bott makes a very nice small 3-port hub ( http://www.drbott.com/prod/db.lasso?code=3115-THSS ) which complements the MBA nicely.

    Having items chained together may work for a desktop computer installation, but for a notebook, it's just wrong.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    dahcheet

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #11
    Even if you get the USB hub (this one or any USB hub) I don't think it will work with the Macbook Air Superdrive. There was another thread talking about this.
     
  12. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #12
    Yes, I know this. My point was that the people who want the MBA SuperDrive to also include a USB hub have an unrealistic expectation, if for no other reason than if the SuperDrive had a hub built-in, any devices connected to that hub would take power away from the SuperDrive and it would not work. In addition, daisy-chaining items is kind of an ugly situation when it comes to what is supposed to be an ultraportable notebook.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    dahcheet

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #13
    Ah, my apologies. I thought you were giving that as a solution to using something in conjunction with the MBA Superdrive.

    I think those who want to use multiple USB peripherals with the MBA may have purchased an item that doesn't meet there needs. But, to each their own.
     
  14. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #14
    No prob, I think we were just on different wavelengths for a second there.

    But I can think of one instance which I've personally run into where a hub would be useful: Trying to use the USB Ethernet dongle and sync an iPhone at the same time. Totally reasonable thing to want to do, but you can't do it without a hub. That's why I ordered one, for that occasional time when I need a wired net connection and need to plug in an iPod or iPhone at the same time.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #15
    I know this is an old thread but I just wanted to post that the Superdrive does work when plugged into a Cinema Display - at least, mine does. I'm currently running a 2010 11" MacBook Air plugged into a 24" LED Cinema Display. The Superdrive is plugged into the Cinema Display's USB port and the whole setup is working swimmingly. Just wanted to confirm this in case someone else came here looking for the answer like I originally did. :)
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
  17. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007

Share This Page