Airport: Arg!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Soundhound, Jan 11, 2007.

1. Soundhound macrumors 6502a

I just set up a whole Airport network for streaming music at home. And now Apple comes out with the base station I should really have for this. :eek: Very frustrating. Anyway, here's my sad story. Anyone have a better way to do this????????? Thanks!!!

I'm very new to this, but for streaming music for the most part the speed of the network now seems ok. The problem I'm having is that I think I'm setting things up in an unorthodox way, and Apple stuff doesn't take kindly to that:

I have an older Powerbook (2001 titanium g4, 400mhz) connected to an Airport extreme. It has a 500 gig lacie hard drive connected to it which is full of music. It serves up music to the wireless network which includes 4 airport expresses connected to stereos in different rooms, and is accessed wirelessly by several powerbooks.

The music streaming works ok. Not perfect, there are occassional dropouts, but on the whole it's very good. The problem is that I use my powerbook to manage the itunes music library on the hard drive, not the powerbook which is connected to the hard drive by firewire and is serving it up. I do this by mounting the hd on my powerbook through a piece of software called Sharepoints (I think). But this has problems - for example syncing my ipod takes a really long time because it's pulling files over the wireless network. Last night I just connected my powerbook directly to the hd and synced my ipod that way.

there's gotta be a better way. I'm wondering if the new airport exteme that was just announced will be it.

2. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Unless you have anything that can handle 802.11n, you're probably just fine without the new AirPort. The one big plus to it, for your use, is that it can serve your drives up if you connect them via its USB interface, meaning that it could replace your older PB as a disk server.