Airport auto connecting by itself

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by sredhead, Aug 12, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    Airport connects to the internet automatically, irrespective of whether the computer is on or not. When the computer is on the internet connect icon on the menu shows a connection, after disconnect it will continue to reconnect by itself. No internet related software is running (happens even in the middle of the night)
    Using snow Airport with V4.0.8 software and airport card software v 1.3.1
    Ibook 700 mhz with 640 mb ram, aircard, OS10.2.6
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Re: Airport auto connecting by itself

    Although you don't say so, I assume that you have a broadband connection. That means that your broadband modem is always on unless you have PPPoE. An Airport base station is a router. Just like any other router, it is always connected to the Internet. So far, you have described nothing out of the ordinary. It may also be that "friends" on the outside are borrowing your wireless connection. FWIW, which computer you have has nothing to do with it. It certainly has nothing to do with it if it is turned off.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #3
    try mac address filtering and then WEP just to see if anyone is stelaing your WIFI
     
  4. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    If you have dial-up, it is a common problem for both the computer and Airport BS to want to connect, even with out any TCP Activity.

    Solution (Works 90% of the time)
    Set your computer's dial-up settings to not dial automatically.
    In the Airport Administrator, there should be a setting with in there that allows you to set the station to not automatically.

    About 10% of the time, it doesn't matter what you do, it will still automatically dial. A Friends G4 Sawtooth, would always dial-up durring start-up, in OS9 or OSX. It didn't bother him because it had its own line, but he had to use a network with his roomate to connect when he moved, because the thing wouldn't stop dialing with a phone line installed.

    TEG
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #5
    -sredhead

    Also creat a "Closed Network". It makes invisible the network broadcast to all PC based Wardriving apps.

    WEP first
    Access Control second (MAC addy list)
    Closed Network Third

    The only way to connect to the base station is to know the name of the SSID and PW.
     

Share This Page