Airport Card Help

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by afilteredview, Jul 29, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I have an iBook G3 computer with OS X 10.2.6


    On Friday I bought an Airport Extreme Card and after a few hours I discovered that I bought the wrong airport card for the computer. Yesterday I exchanged it for the right one and I am installing it the right way according too all of the airport card installation instructions I have seen but ever time the card is installed and I plug the computer back in and put the battery back on and try to turn the computer back on it won't come on.

    Does anyone know how I can fix this because I can't figure it out.

    Whenever I take the card out the computer turns on just fine

    Maybe I am doing something wrong
     
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    maybe someone knows of a site where I can get better details instructions because apple.com just isn't working out for me
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    cooooome on

    im stuck here

    i hope this isnt one of those things that is such a stupid thing to ask that it doesnt even deserve a response

    :(
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    No, I don't think it is (too stupid to deserve a response). You might try resetting the power management. Sometimes the computer may be confused by the presence of new hardware. To do this, look at this link:

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=14449

    Alas, I have an iBook G4 and my AE card came pre-installed....
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    I did what that article said and then tried to re-install the card and the same nothing happens

    this is a little frustrating
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    It may not be the answer, but you want to do it *after* you install the card, not before. So that when you re-initialize, you do so with the card.

    But this is all very strange. Are you in the vicinity of an Apple store? Where did you get the card? Can they help you?
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    Are you sure you're installing it EXACTLY as the directions say? Does it fit into the slot snugly, or can you wiggle it around? Is it upside down? Does your replacement card say "Apple" and "Airport" on it?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8


    I will try that. Closest Apple store is 45 minutes away , bought the card at a CompUsa and I guess I could call them but when I bought it it didn't seem like many of them knew much about macs


    and yes I am installing it exactly, it says to put it in with the barcode and id side up so i do that, and install it and it fits just fine
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    ok that didnt work so it must be something else


    i appreciate you guys helpings
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    might just give up and try to return the stuff
     

Share This Page