airport express, adsl & xp - help!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mat777, Oct 1, 2005.

1. mat777 macrumors newbie

hi,

i hope somebody out there can help me. i am totally new to wifi, apple (my appologies!) and even forums, so please forgive me if i appear a complete novice!

yesterday, i bought an airport express with the main aim of being able to wirelessly connect my notebook to the interent, my printer and my stereo.

after many hours of frustration, setting and resetting, i finally got the thing configured. actually, it was down to the software in the end - i had to download the latest airport software and airport express firmware. once i installed these, things seemed to spring into life! well, i got a green light on the express.

so i can now listen to my music wirelessly - fantastic.
    however, i cannot browse the internet. i have an adsl modem connected via an ethernet cable to the express. the green light is on and things seem ok. when i set up the express i entered all required information correctly (i.e. i answered the questions with the required info). when i try to connect though, of course it doesn't. if i connect the modem to my notebook or anyother pc, it works fine.

i searched and read many forums and threads until my eyes bled but with no success. also the apple help and support info doesn't help.

my config is as follows:
    win xp pro
    built in wifi - dhcp enabled
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-35-FE-48-07
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1