Airport Express and Stereo System

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by JzzTrump22, Mar 25, 2005.

  1. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I'm thinking about getting airport express and I want to know what i need in order to use the airport express with my sound system. It's a 500W Onkyo.
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    I've connected my Airport Express to my ONKYO TXDS484, using an ordinary analog mini-jack to phono cord... works fine... But I think you get even better sound if you use the optional Monster Cable...
     
  3. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
  4. JzzTrump22 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    I have the HT-R510. Could your repost the link to the cables/connector i need. The link you posted doesn't work. How much is it going to cost for me to get it hooked up so i could use it wirelessly?
     
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    Besides the Airport Express an ordinary mini-to-RCA cable should not cost you more than a few dollars... (Here's a $19.90 version, but I think you can find cheaper ones, Monster doesn't actually seem like a cheap brand... ;))

    The AirPort Express Stereo Connection Kit with Monster Cables I'm trying to link to is $39,-...

    Now, let's see if that link doesn't work, Apple has probably changed it's site structure again, because I had a way of linking into products withoout getting those sessions issues... :rolleyes:
     
  6. Fender2112 macrumors 6502a

    Fender2112

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Though this may seem obvious, you also need to have an airport card installed in you computer. I did not realize this when I purchased the Airport Express. I thought I could stream the music through my wireless router which is connected to via ethernet to my G5. I did not feel like spending another $80 so I returned the Airport Express.

    If anyone knows how to use the Express without an Airport card, I would love to be enlightened on the subject.
     
  7. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #7
    Good tip. I didn't think that a problem here, though... Didn't all Rev C PowerBooks come with Airport Extreme built-in...?
     
  8. JzzTrump22 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    I have an airport card with my machine. I don't remember if it was standard on all Rev. C models. But thanks for the links.
     

Share This Page