Airport Express as repeater for D-Link Router

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by imac abuser, Dec 23, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    imac abuser

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #1
    I have an Apple Express that I have in the room where my powerbook is. I have it set up to do wireless printing. For my internet connection I have a D-Link Router in the other part of the house. My connection is ok, but I would like to use the Airport Express to increase the strength on the wireless signal. Any tips?

    Thanks
    Chris
     
  2. Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    My understanding was that Airport Express only acts as a WDS relay (extends a network) for an Airport extreme base station and not other, third-party, base stations. I might be wrong but that was my understanding
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    imac abuser

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #3
    I don't thinkn so, because when your in the admin utlity it asks if it's for a airport basestation, or not. And my printer works in conjunction with the dlink and airport express. So I think it will work :) just have to find somebody that has it set up that way.
     
  4. Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #4
    From http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=108040

    So there you have it. Airport Express can join a third-party access point network as a client and offer it's printing facilities but it can only be a WDS access point (ie extend a network) on Airport Extreme networks
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    debroglie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    Actually... it depends. It is only advertised as being able to be a WDS access point for other Apple-branded routers, but people have gotten it to work with other brands. From my understanding, it can be done with Linksys and many other routers, but nobody has managed with D-link. I have a d-link router so I haven't looked into it too much, but I'm sure that someone else can provide a link to instructions on how to attempt to set it up. It can be done, just maybe not with d-link.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    imac abuser

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #6
    the wireless printing part is working great just have to lock down the extended signal router......
     
  7. dav
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
  8. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #8
    . . . seems like Inderjeet Singh (October 12, 2004) may have copied off Ryan Schwartz (September 5, 2004).

    Maybe you can take those instructions as guidelines and adapt them to your D-Link.
     

Share This Page