Airport Express faulty ????

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bollard, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. bollard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Just got a refurb PB and i'm having problems with my internet connection. I purchased a D Link ADSL modem which plugs into the Airport Express. After configuring the modem and installing Airport Express I tried to get online but it doesn't work even though I get full bars on the signal strength and the Airports light is green. I've connected the Modem directly to the PB which gets me online OK. I've also been able to get online using other networks that are in my building (but have none of the strength of my Airport signal. Any clues to my next step ????? Thanks.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Could it be a bad DNS server setting?

    In System Preferences, under the Network tab, click on Assist Me and then run the Diagnostics.

    Maybe renew your DHCP lease and turn off IPv6 too, just for fun. :p

    For the record, your settings for TCP/IP and Proxies should be the same for your ethernet connection and your AirPort setting. Is there a mismatch somewhere?
     
  3. bollard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Really don't want to post this but I'm getting pretty disillusioned with Apple and it's service. I've now spent approx 3 hours on the phone to Apple technical support trying to rectify this problem. After a phonecall for 2 hours last Saturday failed to sort this problem out, I tried again last night at 7.00pm I get through and they say that the problem might be that I need a firmware downgrade I try this and this doesn't help but then I get cut off. I ring back asking to speak to the same guy but speak to another guy who takes my number just in case we get cut off again. He says that the first guys firmware downgarde was incorrect and we should try a different one while we do this we get cut off again. He doesn't call back so I ring again but now the help desk is closed. :mad: Apple's EASY to use mantra is missing for me. I may try again tonight but it looks like I'll have to go to Regents Street and see a Genius. Luckily I live in London and i have this option. REALLY REALLY :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  4. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #4
  5. bollard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    London
  6. carpe diem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #6
    Call apple care they sent me a new one in 48 hours.
     
  7. bollard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Call me picky,but isn't it a bit unprofessional that the ADSL modem that staff at the Apple store recommended to me and is in the UK Apple store doesn't actuallly work with the latest updated Airport Express ??????
     

Share This Page