Airport Express - Neighbours being mean?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Soundburst, Feb 13, 2007.

  1. Soundburst macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #1
    Hello, I may just be being paranoid but my internet is going quite slow.

    Can I tell if someone is using my Wi-Fi?

    I should be the only one on, is there a way to check how many connections are taking the internet at any one time, or is airport automatically protected against computers other than your own accessing the point.

    Thank
     
  2. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #2
    WHy bother checking? Just change your password to somehting else if you think they figured it out, or reset the router all over and change the name of the network and the password. If you havent set up encryption than maybe you shuld start there.

    Kevin
     
  3. ezzie macrumors 68020

    ezzie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #3
    you should definitely have an ecrypted network going...it saves you the hassle of worrying about who else might be using it.

    do you know how to encrypt your network? if you need help, just shout.
     
  4. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for your offer of help.

    I really don't want to have to enter a password every time i turn on my computer - is this possible?

    Also does it waste battery power having these options on?

    Thanks
     
  5. ezzie macrumors 68020

    ezzie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #5
    for my router, i enter the password the first time for each wireless mac, then you can choose to store the password in your keychain. you don't have to enter it at all after that.

    encryption does not waste battery power, FYI.

    hope this helps!
     
  6. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #6
    Thanks, again.

    I'm in Airport Admin utility now which security should i use WPA Personal, WPA Enterprise or WEP.

    Then it will ask me for my password?
     
  7. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #7
    No, you won't need to enter a password everytime to go online. I doubt it takes anymore battery, at least, nothing you would notice.
     
  8. ezzie macrumors 68020

    ezzie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #8
    WEP is what i use...you will enter a password (it will give you the criteria, such as length, etc.)...you'll enter a password, and you should have an option to save the password to your keychain.
     

Share This Page