Airport Express Non consistent signal?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by gusanitoverde, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. gusanitoverde macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #1
    I got an Airport Express, and my Powermac and Powerbook are loaded with Airport Extreme cards. My house is now "wireless" I have "Comcast" cable as my IP. My signal is constantly and daily dropping to 48 Mps and down to 1 Mps, internet becomes as slow as Dial-Up. I live in an apartment, and I have moves the airport in 2 different locations in my living room. What could be wrong?

    Please advice me on how to troubleshoot...

    Thank you!
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Perhaps interference from cordless phones or microwaves?
     
  3. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    No, not really. There is nothing turned on.

    I have a baby monitor and a microwave, but nothing is on. And the signal is still interrupted.
     
  4. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    in Fact...

    What is most ridiculous about the whole thing is that the Airport was even worse when it was only 12" inches away from my powermac. The signal would drom to nothing.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  6. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    Absolutely

    I
     
  7. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    Absolutely

    I am writing to you from my powerbook G4. I got the same problem.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Well, have you got any P2P or bit-torrent apps running? They're pretty good at crippling wireless networks.
     
  9. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    Give me an example of them.

    I only have the ilife apps and some other photo editing apps.
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    P2P examples. :)

    Hmm, this is tricky. Have you tried the usual troubleshooting methods of unplugging the modem and the Express for half a minute and then plugging them back in again? It's important to wait the thirty seconds to let your ISP reset your connection (which it should do).

    Also, what sort of security do you have enabled on your network?
     
  11. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #11
    Thanks

    I tried that. Everyday. Is not working.

    No P2P aps.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Well, how is the network secured? You can find out in the AirPort Admin Utility by clicking on Change Wireless Security.

    While you're there, have a go at changing the channel from the drop down list. If the problem is interference then changing the channel could help. :)
     
  13. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #13
    That souds like an option.

    How do you change the channel again?
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    Open AirPort Admin Utility in your Utilities folder, select your base station, type in the password and then select a new channel from the drop-down list at the bottom of the opening page. :)
     
  15. gusanitoverde thread starter macrumors 6502

    gusanitoverde

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Northern California
    #15
    Thanks. I tried that now. Let's see if anything happens.


    Thanks so much for all your help. And for taking the time.;)
     
  16. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #16
    Could it be interference from neighbors' appliances?
     

Share This Page