Airport Express port forwarding? I NEED HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by retardedwhale, Nov 19, 2006.

  1. retardedwhale macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #1
    Hello. The Mac Book Pro that I'm using right now is connected to Airport Express. The AE is conected to a Linksys router.

    Here's the thing: I want to play Starcraft on the laptop, but I lag up the games, sometimes my map download won't even start, and when I host a game, no one can join!

    It works fine on the desktop PCs connected directly to the Linksys router, because I forwarded the correct ports by using the Linksys router admin page (192.168.1.1), but I have no idea on how to forward ports on the AE, because it uses 10.0.1.2 or something like that. Yeh, I don't even know much about this kind of stuff, I just want to play Starcraft. Can anyone help? Please & thank you.
     
  2. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #2
    Hey

    With both the Airport Express and Extreme you have to use the Airport Admin Utility instead of a broswer, you'll find that in Applications/Utilities/

    Open it up and you should see your express station in the list, double click on it and enter the password if you have one. A new window will open up and the option that you want will be the tab named Port Mapping. There you add in the ports, apply those by rebooting the express and you should be sorted
     
  3. topgun072003 macrumors 6502

    topgun072003

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    yeah...what he said.
     
  4. retardedwhale thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #4
    umm, my bad.. I wasn't really sure what AE stood for but I used it as Airport express :eek: I don't have Extreme, just express connected to the Linksys.
     

Share This Page