Airport Express questions

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by fjs08, Nov 21, 2004.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #1
    Hi,
    Does anyone out there use Airport Express(AE) as a wireless print server???
    I have a TiBook and my wife uses a Thinkpad t-40p. Any thoughts on whether those 2 could be hooked up with the AE??

    Thanks

    Frank
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107998

    This is for an Airport Extreme, but it should work the same way.

     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    Provided your printer is USB compatible you should have no trouble setting this up.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy part of the Pacific NW
    #4
    The biggest problem may come from the Windows end. I had to jump through a few hoops since our Canon's i550 installer didn't let you create a new port - you'll need to create a new "local" Internet printing port (they look something like IP_192_168_1_1). I got around this by installing a fake printer using the Windows built-in drivers, which let me create the port. Then I installed the Canon i550 to that port, and finally deleted the fake printer.

    It works quite well once it's set up.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    #5
    Hey Do you know if its possible to use the print server with a wired PC? I tried it with the 10.0.1.1 but it didnt work. Any sugestions??
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    asif786

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #6
    yep, this can be done on a wired PC too.

    http://www.ifelix.co.uk/tech/1004.html

    follow those instructions, it should be able to help you..

    /asif
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004

Share This Page