AirPort Express Review

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by SiliconAddict, Jul 21, 2004.

  1. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    arstechnica has a new review up on the AirPort Express:

    http://arstechnica.com/reviews/004/airportexpress/airportexpress-1.html

    The only reason I was thinking about getting one was because of the bridge capabilities. Since it doesn't support 3rd party AP's or routers. *shrugs* Guess its a no go for me. Pity. I would have picked up 2 of these if they had decided to not play the proprietary game.
     
  2. mainstreetmark macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #2
    I don't believe there's anything to the 802.11 spec about bridging or other repeater-type abilities, so all implementations would wind up being proprietary.
     
  3. FlamDrag macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #3
    A nice review which I would recommend to those considering the purchase. It covers many bases.
     
  4. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #4
    whew! thanks for posting!

    I was about to buy one, and then I found out that bridge mode only works on that linksys router and Apple routers.

    So basically, if the computer doesn't have a wifi card, it can't use the print server or audio bridge unless you have an Apple router or Linksys WRT54G! Congrats, Apple doesn't even tell you about it in the manual!

    Wow, I was really thinking about buying one for my parents (who own a laptop and a desktop). Thank you Ars Technica!
     
  5. aztiml macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #5
    I recently recieved my AP Express. I too was hoping to extend the range of my current (none Apple) wireless router. I called Apple support, and the guy didn't even know if it was possible. He was interested to try it with me over the phone, just to see if it could be done --- way to go on training Apple.

    Another important thing you should all know: you cannot use your existing wireless network for Internet access and stream to the AP Express. Its one or the other.

    That said, I'm really happy with it, and I'm going to purchase another one. The ability to play music in diffrent rooms is too cool.

    -T
     
  6. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #6
    That's what I was talking about. It IS possible, but only if you have an Apple Basestation or the Linksys model I mentioned (the linksys is tricky, too--read the article).

    You MUST set up the Airport Express in BRIDGE mode--bypassing the dhcp server and NAT, then you set up your central router (whether linksys or Apple) to treat it as a bridge. Pain in the ass.

    If you're buying another one, you might be able to do this. I'd look into it before putting down any more cash.
     

Share This Page