Airport express...time to buy?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by brsboarder, Jan 11, 2006.

  1. brsboarder macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #1
    I was expecting a release of a new airport express and have been holding out for a couple weeks, hoping for an new one. But, because it wasn't released, is there any chance that it will be released soon/dropped price, or should I buckle and buy it
     
  2. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    I'd get one now. I did get one, and I love it. ;)
     
  3. law guy macrumors 6502a

    law guy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    #3
    What you know is 1) you want an AP express; 2) it will work just fine; 3) they're relatively inexpensive. Were you holding out b/c you didn't want to miss out on some new feature? My wireless equipment (base station and an express) will likely out last my systems - they work, they transmit broadband througout my house. I can't see this basic functionality being made obsolete in the near future by a newer version of the little express unit. Order it from Amazon or someplace with easy no particular reason needed returns for a reasonable time period if this nervousness of just missing it is causing too much angst. Good luck and hopefully you'll enjoy whatever wi-fi unit you do get.
     
  4. RHMMMM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    #4
    Go ahead and buy one, it's not like it's a $2500 Powerbook or $1300 iMac - it's $129 or even $99 if you get a refurb. The worst that can happen is that Apple will release a better one and you can eBay it.

    Make sure you upgrade it to firmware 6.3.

    I got one a week ago and love it, awesome toy. I just use it for audio streaming (with external DAC) on my Hi-Fi system.
     
  5. JupiterTwo macrumors 6502

    JupiterTwo

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    GB
    #5
    I've already got one, and I'm tempted to get another with iTunes now supporting streaming to multiple expresses at once.

    If the video streaming comes out, you never know it might just be a firmware update ;)

    Go for it, they're ace :)
     
  6. Tel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Wouldn't the Airport Express need a port to stream video to?
     
  7. RHMMMM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    #7
    Well, I can tell you that won't happen, the AE uses a Burr Brown (TI) PCM2705 chip for the audio output, which is purely an audio-DAC. It's not video capable and can't become so through any kind of firm/soft-ware update
     
  8. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #8
    the express isn't rigged up with video yet. unless they have a video out that just is hidden as a headphone out....

    they wouldn't do that tho. thatd be a loss for them.

    Edit: woah 3 in a row..!
     
  9. JupiterTwo macrumors 6502

    JupiterTwo

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    GB
    #9

    Cheers - that's good to know :) - as the saying goes "everyday's a school day"

    [The premise I pondered the firmware update was I thought the iPod docks had a multi-functional line-out jack, so the express might have one too.]
     
  10. brsboarder thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #10
    alright, you've convinced me, I'm buying one tonight
     
  11. iRhyknow macrumors member

    iRhyknow

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #11
    I just bought one also, mine should arive today! That means at around 8:00 PM central I'll have a post asking for helpon setting it up! :D
     

Share This Page