Airport Express, unsupported USB printer, broadband

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jeffhosier, Jun 13, 2004.

  1. jeffhosier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    #1
    I seem to have got my Airport Express configuration to work. It’s clear from the many Mac forums that this is a difficult problem, so here’s the way I managed to crack it.


    I have

    o A new iBook

    o A Samsung ML-1510 laser printer (not on Apple’s list of supported printers)

    o An Airport Extreme Base Station with its own dial-up modem

    I initially connected the Samsung and my dial-up ISP service directly to the iBook. When these were working, I connected them through the Airport. To make the printer work, I had to employ the trick mentioned in many places, of printing though the iBook USB and then plugging the printer into the Airport and turning it into a Rendezvous printer. This all worked fine for a couple of weeks.

    I then installed broadband using a router/modem (pre-configured by the broadband supplier) plugged into the WAN port of the Airport. The broadband self-installed instantly and worked fine, but the printer refused to work through the Airport. When I tried the trick of making it a Rendezvous printer, the Printer Set-up Utility just said that it couldn’t find the printer driver.

    I tried looking at the Airport Admin Utility and the Airport Set-up Assistant, but both claimed that they were unable to read the Airport Base station. Basically, this exhausted all the advice I could find.

    I then employed the following magic ritual which seemed to work.

    1 Disconnect base station completely

    2 Carry the base station to the kitchen table, give it a really hard stare, threaten it with a large hammer, and then wait for a few minutes to allow the adrenalin to disperse.

    3 Plug it all back together again (ADSL into Airport WAN port, printer into Airport USB port).

    4 This seemed to allow the Airport Admin Utility to work again.

    5 Open Airport Admin Utility.

    1 Click on Configure

    2 Click on Internet Connection. This showed that the Airport thought that was configured to connect via its own dial-up modem.

    3 Set Connect via to Ethernet

    4 Click on Update

    6 Use Printer Setup Utility to make the Samsung into a Rendezvous printer.

    Test it all. If it works, put sledgehammer back in toolbox, and bask in the warm glow of a job well done. If it doesn’t ...


    Two days on, all is well. If anyone tries this and it doesn’t work, it could be because you didn’t threaten it with a hammer. I regard this as the most crucial part of the whole process. There’s an old, and highly dubious English proverb “A dog, a wife, and a walnut tree, the more you beat them, the better they be” While I wouldn’t subscribe to that, I think a small threat of physical violence seems to work wonders with the Airport.


    Jeff Hosier, Bath, England
     
  2. Jo-Kun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #2
    You mean you airport extreme ;-) the express is the new one featuring airtunes...

    nice to have your airport extreme up and running with wireless printing...
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    So does it work now or not? I'm confused. :confused:

    And side note...when its working for you, does your printer show up in the priinter blank of the airport admin utility's summary page? I have an Epson C84 (it *is* on the list) and it worked as soon as I plugged it in, but the printer box has always been blank, as if the airport itself didn't know the Epson was there....
     
  4. jeffhosier thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    #4
    "Extreme" not "express"

    Jo-Kun: Quite right, it’s the Extreme. Apologies.

    Mkrishnan: Yes it does all work now.

    Now that I’ve got the Airport Admin Utility back, I can see the printer in the summary page.

    It’s interesting that your Airport acts “as if it doesn’t know the Epson is there” . When I eventually managed to look at the configuration of my device, it was convinced that I was using a dial up Internet connection, when it had been an ADSL for at least a week. But it was working fine on the ADSL.

    Try waving a hammer at yours to see if that brings it to its senses - it worked for mine.


    Jeff Hosier
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Oh, mine *works* -- it just pretends not to see the printer. I don't want to intrude upon its fantasy land as long as I'm getting printing action. ;)
     

Share This Page