Airport Express with iTunes PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wasimyaqoob, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. wasimyaqoob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    London, England.
    #1
    Hello guys,

    How does this work?

    Does it need to be hooked upto a broadband connection in order for it to stream iTunes Music wireless?

    Also, is it just anything with a headphone port that it streams to the source, for example I'm hoping that I could stream music from my Powerbook to my TV without any wires using this? - Could it really work?

    Would appreciate ALL your help and support.

    Thanks.
     
  2. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Broadband, no. It's entirely local. It just goes from your computer to your Airport Express. You don't need the internet at all.

    Um.. You can't pick the wireless signal up using UHF/VHF with a tv, if that's what you mean. The quality would be extremely bad, if a signal was found at all. If you mean to plug the sound out port from airport express to your tv, this is possible, you just need the right cable. What you need is a Stereo 3.5mm phono plug to 2 RCA plugs.
     
  3. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #3
    Mac with itunes open and airtunes enabled in prefs -------Airport Express plugged in and hooked up to a speaker via the 3.5mm jack = wireless sound


    headphones/amp/hometheater work ok

    :D
     
  4. wasimyaqoob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    London, England.
    #4
    Wicked, and then how would you change the songs? :p

    And does it need to be on a specific channel or will it just start playing the tunes as soon as their played?
     
  5. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #5
    The TV will need to be on whatever line-input the express > TV audio cable is plugged into (Video 1 or Video 2). It would be better if your TV had an amp connected to it (like a surround-sound tuner) and the express went into the amp, but it should work directly.

    Keyspan do a remote that works with Express to control iTunes remotely
     
  6. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    So it seems you have no idea how the Airport Express works. Interesting you bought one.

    Well there is a program called the 'Airport Setup Assistant' in the Applications>Utilities folder, and if you use that you will be setup and running in no time.

    But basically you use iTunes to send the music to whatever source is plugged into the Airport Express. So with your TV (I would not recommend) you would plug the Express into an auxiliary port, and then select that port with your TV. Other words for auxiliary port are video 1, video 2, and so on. Depends on the TV.

    Otherwise try reading the manual.

    EDIT: I guess I shouldn't assume you bought one yet. Have you?
     

Share This Page