airport express with mac mini

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by untamedhysteria, Jul 31, 2005.

1. untamedhysteria macrumors regular

untamedhysteria

hey all...just ordered my first mac and will be getting it monday! w00t
    anyways, i was going to ask if airport express with do great with the mini for my audio (since the mini doesn't have good audio). I wanted a minimal cable clutter design (my broadband connection, audio, and printer) and took a look at the airport express which seemed to fit me perfectly in that way.

also, is the 512 good for the mini? i'm planning on doing simple stuff like maybe a game or two, internet browsing, email, audio backup (from cd's), and using iphoto or something for my big collection of photo's of the family.

i know if i need more i can go to crucial and buy more and do the putty knife hack on the mini to add it (which i'm a pc tech so it seems really simple enough). but i don't want to scratch the pretty new mac if not needed.

thanks in advance for the feedback.
    untamedhysteria

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Sounds like the perfect set up. Very nice. The only issues I could possibly think of is the gaming part. Macs generally aren't seen as gaming rigs and the mini is more than a little lacking when it comes to GPU performance. Nevertheless, I think you'll love it. :)

3. untamedhysteria thread starter macrumors regular

untamedhysteria

gaming

i'm not talking about big games like doom or something like that...just some java games, flash games (love flash) and maybe a small footprint game (like the games it comes with).
    thanks for the fast response!

also, about the system sounds and stuff...can that be transfered to the speakers via airport express too? even if it has to be a hack? otherwise i'll have to figure something else out (cuz some system sounds are kinda nice, like when you get messages from a messenger app).

4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew