Airport Express won't connect to my Cable Modem?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by debo, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    #1
    Ok, I've had my Airport Express since they came out, but I've been using it in client mode. I'm getting ready to take a trip so I was going to switch it to be a wireless router. I can't get it to connect to my internet. I don't have to supply any password or IP address or anything to my linksys router, basically just plug it in and it works. I can't for the life of me get the express to connect. Flashing orange light all the time. I can connect wirelessly to the network I set up, but it's not connected to the internet. Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    have you done a hard reset?

    might have to reset your cable modem after you connect it to the Aiport Express as well
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    #3
    Yeah, I did a hard reset. I don't see why I would need to reset my cable modem. I can uplug it from my linksys router and plug it back in at will.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    #4
    Well I don't know why it worked, but I unplugged the cable modem and plugged it back in and it worked. Thanks!
     
  5. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    your cable modem was connected to the linksys router probably, it needed to be reset because the airport express handles the ip address distributuion differently i believe

    or its just a different device, but anywho glad it worked for you
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    hulugu

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    the faraway towns
    #6
    It has to do with DHCP assignments.
     

Share This Page