Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Ryan5505, Jun 17, 2006.

  1. Ryan5505 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I run an Airport Express with all current updates for my wireless connection between my powerbook G4 and Internet connection. Two days ago I came home and my Internet connection was not available. I thought that my ISP was probably down since the green light was on. The next day my Internet was still down, so I disconnected the Ethernet cable and reconnected it, the amber light now flashes non-stopped. I have connected directly to the wall and my Internet will work. I have repeated hard and soft resets on the airport express with no luck. Any suggestions?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    After the resets, you'll have to reconfigure the AirPort with all your internet details. Did you do this? :)
     
  3. Ryan5505 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #3
    Yes

    Yes I reset all my settings and still amber light only flashes. Do I need a new airport? Its under a year old.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Don't know, but it's still under warranty so maybe take it back to Apple. :)
     
  5. Ryan5505 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    They're generally quite reliable, but if your hardwired network settings match up exactly with the AirPort settings yet you still get no connection, then I'd take it in. Sometimes they overheat or get a small power surge and it can wreck them pretty badly. :(
     
  7. Ryan5505 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    It responds to my powerbook, I can change settings and listen to speakers connected to the Airport, it just does not recognize the internet signal from the ethernet cord.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Assuming the ethernet cable works with other your Mac, then it sounds like your ethernet port may have blown. If you really want to try something (because this is a pretty frustrating situation and it feels better to at least try something), then unplug your modem and your AirPort for a few minutes, then plug them back in. Have your network settings for your ethernet setup on your Mac open, and the internet settings for the AirPort in AirPort Admin Utility open, and ensure everything is exactly the same. Other than that, I'm not sure what else you can try. :eek:
     
  9. Ryan5505 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    I dont have a modem. High speed internet is provided through ethernet jacks in the apartment. I just plug into the wall like you would for a telelphone and I am connected, so I cant change any settings. I guess I will just have to take a trip to the apple store.:mad:
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Okay, well still leave it unplugged for a while, maybe half an hour, and match up the settings. You don't have to make any changes to the modem's settings, you just have to make sure the ethernet settings on your Mac and the internet settings on your AirPort are identical. :)

    Good luck with whatever happens.
     
  11. Ryan5505 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #11
    Will i need the recipt for the Airport? It was a gift last christmas, but I have the box and all the papers.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Not sure because I've never been to an Apple Store, but I don't need a receipt at my local reseller. :)
     
  13. Ryan5505 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #13
    The green light finally came on after keeping the base unplugged for an hour. Once I reset the base for security and reset the base, I would not recieve any date from the base. I then reset again, and then the blinking amber light and no internet.
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    Sorry, but I'm not sure what else to try other than taking it in to get replaced. :eek:
     

Share This Page