Airport Exteme and PC's

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by -i2i-, Sep 4, 2004.

  1. -i2i- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hey, I'm new to this forum and macs but I bought a G4 12" iBook the other day and am loving it. I bought an airport extreme with it, and wanted to know if and how I can hook it up to a PC to share a DSL connection, files and a Printer. I'm not sure if any or even all of these are possible, but I'm sure I must be able to hook it up to share an internet connection. Do I need a rotuer or just a acces point? Whats the difference? Do you recommend one?

    Any help is much appreciated, thanks :)
     
  2. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    I would suggest a router. Or if you don't need internet on the PC but when you aren't using the iBook, you can just have the iBook share its wireless connection with the PC via ethernet.
     
  3. -i2i- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Isn't ethernet wired though? I should have also said that my PC has the printer and internet connection on it, thanks,
     
  4. -i2i- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    UK
  5. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #5
  6. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #6
    We have our PC (Windows XP) plugged into the wired port on our Airport Extreme base station. Works just fine - Apple even has an Airport Admin utility available that runs on Windows.

    Our two Mac laptops have no problem using it of course.

    I haven't had much of a problem with Windows wireless clients either, although they weren't mine so I "dumbed down" the AE to use WEP rather than try to get their computers set up to do WPA - but I'm sure it would work fine.
     

Share This Page