AirPort Extreme BaseStation Shared Disk Question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Roy Hobbs, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    I have my new Airport Extreme Base Station up and running.

    I have 3 USB drives connected to it and I am able to read/write from all of them

    The Disk Sharing section of the new Airport Utility allows you to assign a password or use existing account/username to access these drives.

    Does anyone know if you can allow certain users to acces certain drives?

    I want to be able to access all the drives but my wife doesnt need access to 2 of the 3. She has overwritten data before so I don't want her accidentally saving over my data.

    Any ideas??
     
  2. Maynerd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #2
    Trying to hide your porn stash eh? hehe Sorry I have no answer to your question. Good luck!
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    Sounds like you've answered your own question when you wrote "...or use existing account/username to access these drives." So if a file is owned by Alice and she turns off read access then Bob could not see those files.

    If a shared drive doe not allow user based access then it is mostly useless in a multi-user environment
     
  4. Roy Hobbs thread starter macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    after becoming a "shared disk" the owner is system and not a individual.

    Juse seems very odd to have a ALL or NONE situation in terms of shared drive access. Just becuase I want one drive shared to the users on my network does not mean I want all of them shared.
     
  5. danielsan26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #5
    I got mine today too....have you gotten your ipods to sync with itunes over airdisk? do you think it's possible? they're recognized as ipods, they just don't automatically sync....
     
  6. Roy Hobbs thread starter macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #6
    Nope havent tried that, doesnt seem very useful. Just as easy to plug the iPod into the Mac for syching
     
  7. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #7
    Nope it doesn't work that way. When you create an account you can allocate read/write rights to that account and that is it.

    The account on the AEBX is independent from your OS X login.
     
  8. 17MBPC2D macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #8
    Please Help!

    I have a 750GB miniStack v2 (HFS+ Journalled) connected to the Airport Extreme. No problems connecting to it from the MBP wirelessly.

    *** BUT I can't seem to find it via my PC Desktop....I'm not a networking expert, can anyone assist?

    My goal is to store Docs and picture files onto the ext. HD connected to the Extreme and be accessed (READ and WRITE) by both Mac and PC at the same time.

    Also, I've setup the Airport Extreme to use 802.11N (2.4GHz) ONLY....what other settings must I need to do to increase the bandwidth (transfer files speed) between NAS and MBP? Should I use the 5.0GHz instead? And what is Multicast rate settign be to accomplish this? Mine is currently set at 6 Mbps....9, 12, 18 and 24 available to choose from.

    Please assist and advice.
     
  9. Patronus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    #9

    How are these drives formatted? I have read that Fat32 does not work well with the new AP Extreme.

    Thoughts?
     
  10. Mr.Gadget macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #10

    I think you are running into the Windows vs Mac formatting issue where the Mac can read NTFS but Windows cannot read the HFS without special software. Anyone verify this?
    It would be nice to have a shared drive that is HFS formatted but I don't think the Airport Extreme can be used to work around this limitation. Would be nice though.
    I too would like to know what the Multicast rate is for. My guess is for the Apple TV unit when it comes out. That will help control how much of your bandwidth is used for broadcasting A/V.
     
  11. Roy Hobbs thread starter macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #11
    They are all HFS formatted
     
  12. volvoben macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Location:
    nowhere fast
    #12
    In regard to the PC question, it shouldn't matter how the drives are formatted...if the BaseStation is acting as a NAS device, it should be no different than a shared folder on a computer. File systems don't matter because the computer or nas device reads the information on the hard drive and encodes it for transport over the universal ethernet standard.

    If the base station is not acting as a normal NAS device then I'm totally wrong, but there are plenty of other routers around with usb ports for external HDDs, and they all follow this idea.

    I've always just used an old computer with linux, freebsd, macos or even windows be a print server and file server. You can attach all the external HDDs you like, and even an old Pentium 2 will be faster than most any NAS device. Not nearly as slick or quiet as the AE though.
     
  13. Maynerd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #13
    Can you go into this more? I'm considering this router and have external drives that are all Fat32
     
  14. Patronus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    #14
    I have read on this forum (or maybe it was MacForums) that the Fat32 drives hung off of the new AP Extreme could be seen and used by PC's on the network but not the Mac's. I don't understand and I had also heard that the formatting did not matter because of the front-end the router provides for the drive to the network, so....I remain confused. I guess I'll just have to go buy the durn thing and plug it in to find out.
     
  15. uNext macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #15
    I have a western digital passport 160gb hard drive.

    I believe is formatted as fat32 and it works wonderful.

    The disk shows up on my disk very fast
     
  16. htdub macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #16
    I have a Western Digital Mybook 500gb hooked up to the AE, and it's working just fine. It's formatted Fat32 out of the box.

    My lacie D2 drive did not work, due to the built in lacie security login layer.
     
  17. DizzyDean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #17
    APE Shared Drive Issues

    I hooked it up today with 4 WD 500GB Drives. My iTunes resides on a drive. I am unable to see the files and iTunes will not play any files. It appears that the drive files is under the owner of myself but when connected to the APE the owner is system. It seems I am unable to change the owner to system as I do not have the priviledge. Does anyone know how to do this. I need to utilize some use that I can see the files and my wife can see the files from her MacBook.
     
  18. Karlchen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #18
    Does that mean, ALL LaCie D2s are not working on the Airport ?
    That would be a bummer for me..
    :confused:
     
  19. htdub macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #19
    I think any drive that has some sort of login or boot manager will not work, unless your format it to a brick.

    The lacie d2 FAQ states that the secure login can't not be turned off.
     
  20. kenrobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #20
    I have a LaCie 500 GB d2 hooked up and it worked for awhile but its been inconsistent. I haven't been able to connect via Airport over the past few days. I'm going to have to check out the FAQ.
     
  21. oskaringi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #21
    Cant read all files from FAT32 through AE

    Has anyone had a problem with reading from a FAT32 that is connected through the AE. If I hook it directly up to my macbook I can Read/write all files without problems, but when connected to my AE and then wireless to my book I can only see half of the files. I have another disc connected through the AE formatted for Mac and it works fine.

    Reason for having the problem making harddrive in FAT32 is so everyone can access it, MAC or PC at my house.

    The harddrive is a brand new WD 320GB book

    Would be nice to hear if you have any ideas...
     

Share This Page