Airport Extreme card

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by KiDrOck80, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. KiDrOck80 macrumors member

    KiDrOck80

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #1
    I bought my 15" PB G4 at the end of june. I noticed something about it real quickly, the reception for my airport card sucks. As i sit in my room, wiht the wireless router in my basement (linksys 54Mbps 2.4GHZ G) i get between 1-3 bars of reception at times. My brother has an HP with intel centrino and he has full reception in the room next to me. I just bought two 9DBI high gain antennas for my router and i still only get 2-3 bars while my brother has full. These antennas are supposed to increase my wireless range by almost 5X's. Because most wireless routers send out about 2DBI. I dont know what to do, im very frustrated. Should i take it in to get it fixed or something?
     
  2. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #2
    Well the PowerBooks are known for having *slightly* worse wireless reception than the iBooks for example, because of the aluminium enclosure. It shouldn't be quite as bad as you're experiencing though.

    You say your wireless router is in the basement. So are you trying to access it from ABOVE then? You'll probably find you get much better wifi reception the higher up your router is positioned. Can you move it to another point in the house?
     
  3. KiDrOck80 thread starter macrumors member

    KiDrOck80

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #3
    Yeah, im finding a way to get it up to my 1st floor, but the odd thing was, i brought my laptop right next to the wireless router and STILL only got 3 bars!!
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Maybe check to see that your AirPort card is firmly in place. :)
     
  5. KiDrOck80 thread starter macrumors member

    KiDrOck80

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #5
    I have tried everything, im in the room next to my router and im still only getting 2-3 bars....i dont know what could be wrong. i guess im just going to have to take it in. Does anyone else have any suggestions?
     

Share This Page