Airport Extreme Compatibility with game adapter

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jelloshotsrule, Aug 22, 2003.

  1. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #1
    Is the Airport Extreme Base Station compatible with the Linksys WGA54G Wireless Game Adapter?

    thanks
     
  2. gelbin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
  3. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #3
  4. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    i havent used it, but i cant see why it wouldnt. all it does is give your gamecube, ps2, or xbox a wireless signal, it will look the signal and then work. now what i dont know is how it will work with base stations with WEP or SSID off.

    iJon
     
  5. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #5
    alright, thanks a lot
     
  6. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #6
    i think you need a pc to configure it...i dont know..I dont think it will work if you hve WEP...
     
  7. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #7
    there have been many reviews and i believe it was plug and play. but they wep and ssid throws me off a little bit.

    jello - do a search on google, check the game sites too. they have reviews on how to set them up. also check info on linsys' site.

    iJon
     
  8. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #8
    I dunno, all Linksys routers are "PC only" but work fine with Macs anyway, so I don't see why it wouldn't work.
     
  9. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #9
    hah. i don't know what wep is....

    but in any case, i'm asking for a friend, so i'll see what he has to say.

    thanks
     
  10. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #10
    WEP is when you give your base station a password. and what im trying to figure out is how it will work without a password, so maybe you do have to set it up with a pc, not sure.

    iJon
     

Share This Page