Airport Extreme Driver Update v3.4.2 Released

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by richc, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. richc macrumors newbie

    richc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    FYI, Software Update automatically launched for me tonight revealing "Airport Extreme Driver Update v3.4.2", description of the update as follows:


    This software update provides improved AirPort Extreme wireless networking software and is recommended for all customers with an AirPort Extreme enabled computer.

    New AirPort Extreme Features
    • Enhanced networking reliability during certain memory intensive operations.



    Looks like it may address an issue with Airport Extreme connections with computers using more than 1GB of RAM. Unfortunately I only have 512MB in my 17" PBG4 so I can not verify the fix. I will be applying it shortly anyway. Enjoy.
     
  2. dbirider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    CA
    #2
    thanks for posting the info.

    Im using a netgear 54mb g router. after the update, my signal level is still the same as it always is at 12 bars.

    also, i have 1.5 gigs of ram. and... a restart is required.
     
  3. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #3
    I hope this fixes my issue. My PB keeps dropping wireless signals whenever I use a lot of network traffic. I guess time will tell.

    FYI, I have a 17" 1.33 with 2GB of RAM.
     
  4. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    it appears to be working nicely... even though I'm not using airport x-treeme ;)
     
  5. mms macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #5
    Working nicely as in an improvement or no changes?

    I haven't tried it yet, just because I remember what happened with the last AirPort update. After what's been happening with the updates from Apple lately, I not wait about a day to see if there are major problems with it. But because it's recommended for all AE computers, it probably isn't just for >1GB.
     
  6. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #6
    Just an update... After installing the new driver and downloading files all night long over my wireless, I woke up and it still had signal. Thank you, Apple!

    The only problem I had when I woke up was my DSL line went out, but resetting the DSL modem fixed that. Go figure.. Fix one thing and another breaks.
     

Share This Page