airport extreme networking mac + pc

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jadren0, Feb 20, 2004.

1. jadren0 macrumors newbie

This may have been covered, but I haven't found it. I am confused as I am a newbie to home networking.
    I have an AE connected to a cable modem. My PB is connected to the internet via Airport, my pc (which I need for work reasons etc etc) is connected to the base station by ethernet cable. Both machines connect fine to the internet. However, I am having trouble setting up a network, or getting the two computers to 'see' each other. Can anyone give me, or point me to, detailed information about setting up a home network. I am using Panther on the PB and XP on the pc.
    Thanks. Best wishes to all.
    J

2. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

LimeiBook86

Well first check this.

Make sure both of your computers have sharing turned on.

On the Mac: Go to System Prefrences > Sharing and click the "Services" tab then make sure "Personal File Sharing" and "Windows File Sharing'' are checked. Then close the System Prefrences and your set.

On the PC: I am not sure about in Windows XP, but I think you have to right-click on your volume you want to share (The C: drive I guess) and click on "Properties" In the Properties window poke around and there should be something about "Sharing" or sharing volumes.

Now on the Mac go to the "Go" menu in the Finder and click on "Connect to Server..." Click the Browse button and hopefully you will see your PC.

It's not much but I hope I helped you.

Also make sure your ethernet cable from the PC isn't in the wrong port on the AirPort...I know it sounds dumb but I'm just checking.

:D
    -limey

3. varmit macrumors 68000

varmit

getting started