airport extreme on the fritz (15in pb 1.25)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vthokie264, Feb 13, 2006.

  1. vthokie264 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #1
    So I lose my airport tonight, after bringing the computer with me home from work on the motorcycle (nothing new there, do it all the time). I reboot - nothing, remove and re-insert the card, nothing, do a reset of NVRAM, nothing, reset open firmware - nothing, reset the PMU - IT WORKS! I put the computer to sleep, wake it up again later and airport is gone again. I reset the PMU, etc etc again, NOTHING. Swapped out the card and repeated, still nothing.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Maybe try removing a file named com.apple.preferences.airport.plist from your Preferences folder. Just out of interest, do you have more than 1GB of RAM and is the machine completely up-to-date? :)
     
  3. vthokie264 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #3
    I have a gig of ram, and the computer is up to date as far as i know. just ran software update, and there weren't any available ones. and i dont have that file (?)
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Right, although there's a lot of overlap with a PMU reset, try resetting the PRAM. There's always been an issue with PowerBooks, 1GB of RAM or more and AirPort. Apple claims to have fixed it but threads around here say otherwise. :eek:
     
  5. Dr. P macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
    I've got exactly the same problem with my '03 Al Powerbook (only 512mb RAM). I've tried updates, card removal and PRAM reset to no avail. Has any actually fixed the problem yet?
     
  6. vthokie264 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #6
    I wish I could say resetting the PRAM worked, but it didnt. I'm stomped.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    All right, this sucks. This is a very long shot, but try repairing the disk using fsck. If this doesn't work then I guess it's time to hop into an Apple Store to get both the actual card and the logic board checked out. I've only seen fsck work once in this scenario so my hopes aren't exactly high, but it's worth a shot. You've tried pretty much everything else.

    Remember to run fsck as many times as is necessary before you get no changes made. :)
     

Share This Page