Airport Extreme won't print! Please help!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by umdjb, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. umdjb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I just purchased the new Airport Extreme Base Station. I was able to set it up and get the wireless to work. However, when I plug in my usb printer it wont print. It recongizes the printer is connected using bonjour but I get an error message that looks like the image attached to this post when I delete the printer and try to add it. I know its not the printer because that works when plugged directly to the computer. Also the Airport base station will recognize my external USB hard drive plugged in directly to the base station and through a hub

    Any help please. I do not want to return this!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
  3. umdjb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #3
    The printer does show up and says that it is connected by Bonjour when plugged into the airport. However, when I try to print a document the printer starts up and initializes but then "stops the job"
     
  4. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #4
    Have you tried to reboot the printer?
     
  5. umdjb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #5
    Just called AppleCare they said the problem was on HP's end, which is ridiculous because the computer works when plugged in to the computer. There is no signal from Airport to the printer. I think I am just going to return this, its not worth the trouble because now HP will charge me to troubleshoot this and I dont want to get another printer.
     
  6. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #6
    If that's what they say I guess the Airport Base is bad
     
  7. bigben334 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #7
    I Have The Solution.

    its a driver problem..i had the same exact problem, same error message and i fixed it...go to ur printer's website, and find a driver...i have a hp psc 1315, and it worked for me..good luck!
     
  8. biturbomunkie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    cali
    #8
    does the a/p extreme support your printer? i know my a/p express doesn't support all-in-one HPs w/o foomatic hpijs.
     
  9. Martin. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #9
    wait, what were you printing, cause this happened to me last night, if you are printing something with a custom paper size that might be it if not, its probably the driver
     
  10. danielsan26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #10
    Had a similar problem, ran the HP universal binary driver update and restarted the AX from the admin utility, removed and added the printer, and all was restored.
     
  11. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #11
    I have a PSC 1215 and mine isn't working also. Can i ask what driver or software you specifically installed?. In other words how did you get yours to work?
     
  12. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #12
    I'm waiting for a call back from Apple in Cork at the moment, because every time I plug in my USB HD with printer connected, my Airport network disappears. There are definitely a couple of kinks to be ironed out still with this thing.
     
  13. Tymmz macrumors 65816

    Tymmz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #13
    looks like a driver problem.

    i had a similar problem with an epson printer. i just followed the driver install instructions and it worked. i had to be logged in as an admin.
     

Share This Page