(airport) how to tell if someone is leeching my bandwidth and if so stop it

Discussion in 'macOS' started by poohat1000, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. poohat1000 macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    hi i have a 2mb connection, its always been fast but recently its been having odd peroids where everything goes insanely slow, i suspect someone in the local vicinity is leeching bandwidth somehow, is there any tool in osx (or that i can download) that will show me if this is happening and also how to stop it?

    thanks
     
  2. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #2
    i know theres a website. i unfortunatly dont know the URL but the site shows who or how many people are connected to u
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Most routers have a web based utility that shows who is connected to them. (IP address, MAC address, hostname).

    You didn't say if your wifi network was created from your Mac or an Airport Extreme, Airport Express or some other third party router/access point. Provide a few more details on your setup and you'll likely get more useful responses.

    B
     
  4. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    ok cool, i dont know much about this thing but here goes:


    the bb cable is going into a router (draytek) which is then connected to a PC and my airport express base station, this base station is then shared between my mac upstairs and another imac downstairs
     
  5. randas macrumors member

    randas

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
  6. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
  7. Apple macrumors 6502

    Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    In airport admin utility under the first tab click change wireless security... and make sure that there is a password in the blanks
     
  8. Apple macrumors 6502

    Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  9. Apple macrumors 6502

    Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    see above Delete this one and the one before mods please!!
     
  10. DanielNTX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #10
    Look at the DHCP client list and see what was given an IP. (or you can manually ping your subnet from .1 to .254 to see what gives a reply, but this doesn't guarantee info because they could have a firewall dropping ICMP packets or the machine could just be off). Then you should enable encryption using WPA/WPA2 or if I would turn on WPA with Radius authentication. A free public radius server service is available at: http://www.witopia.net/aboutsecuremy.html
     

Share This Page