Airport not connecting to wireless network...please help!

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by slickr4, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #1
    Hey guys, first time post...and i need some help!

    First, i run a wireless network in my apartment using road runner high speed cable internet. i'm using a dlink dgl-4300 wireless router and have pretty much just plug and play with it. my pc works great using it...but suddenly my laptop (ibook) will not connect to the wireless network! the error message i get is:

    "There was an error joining the selected airport network"

    I have no idea how to troubleshoot this as I am horrible with MAC's, i know virtually nothing about them. I'm running osx 10.3 panther. any possible solutions or options i will try!! thanks!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    What sort of security does the router have? That message comes up if you don't type in the right password usually.

    Also, just so we don't get a bit confused, MAC is a networking acronym that every computer (made by Apple or otherwise) has to uniquely identify itself whereas Mac is an Apple computer, such as your iBook. :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #3
    i don't need to enter a password...well at least i thought i didn't...i'm not sure what security it has...i have nothing set up...like i said i just plugged it in and went wireless...
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    You have no security on your network? Are you sure? I mean, usually there's a password but your machines remember it so you only ever have to put it in once. Are you positive you never had to put in this password/key?

    If there has never been a password then there's a chance that someone has logged onto you network and put one on for you (friend or foe, who knows). Are other computers connecting wirelessly okay?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #5
    yeah...my pc connects flawlessly...my xbox connects flawlessly...but my ibook won't...i have no clue why...i don't think i ever put in a password...i plugged it in and got started...
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, well try deleting the AirPort preferences called com.apple.airport.preferences.plist.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #7
    where would i find those?
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration. :)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #9
    just so you know...i just completely formatted and reinstalled mac osx and it still didn't work...so i don't know if this will do anything...but i'll try!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #10
    hey...i didn't see that file...i have like 20 .plist files but that wasn't one of them...
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Yeah, I agree. It's doubtful it'll work considering a reformat didn't do anything. So, is your card seated properly then? Are you nice and close when you're trying to connect?
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    That location is based on Tiger. Sorry, I thought it'd be the same for Panther. I don't have a version of Panther to go by so maybe just run a search for AirPort and PLIST. :eek:
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #13
    yeah i'm close...like literally 10 feet or so. i'm doing a software update right now and one of the updates is the airport...so we'll see what happens. i'm pretty sure the airport is plugged in properly because it worked fine with my last router...

    it's just such a vague error message...it drives me nuts
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    Yeah, it's frustrating. However, a very slightly loose connection between the card and the iBook could bring up these problems so if the update doesn't fix it, then it may be worthwhile taking off the keyboard and having a quick push of the card, just to make sure. I can talk you through this if you like. :)
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #15
    dude...you're the most help i've had so far...and i really appreciate it
     
  16. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16
    No problem. :)

    Hopefully the update works. If it is a software issue, I can't think why it would have suddenly stopped working though. That's what makes me think that the card may be unseated very slightly which is rare but possible from a bump/small drop or something.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #17
    Hey, no dice on the software update and also no dice on the airport card being loose...i checked it and it was locked in. this is really starting to work on my nerves...

    i am in desperate need of ideas...
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #18
    Yeah, I'm out of ideas for now. Did deleting the preferences do anything?

    How about creating a new location and starting again with the connection? I'm really struggling now. :eek:
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #19
    Id would deffinitely suggest checking how the card is seated my sister got an emac a few months ago and that wouldnt pick up any wireless networks in the area checked the card and it was not plugged properly (took us a while to figure it out because to us it looked as though the card was connected but as it turns out the little connector on the wire you plug in needs to be flush with the card (square part touching the card) but after that it worked fine. That problem and yours dont seem to be quite the same but give it a try find the instructions at apple.com I think it should be easy.

    I would also reccomend that you take your book to starbucks or something and find out if the connection problem is exclusive to your wireless network.

    good luck
     
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #20
    card is in securely...no question about it...simply won't connect...any other advice? i really need it
     

Share This Page