Airport? Please explain

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by latisha1903, Jul 30, 2005.

  1. latisha1903 macrumors member

    latisha1903

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    houston
    #1
    I have a Powerbook G4 [just installed Tiger] and i do connect to the internet wirelessly at home.

    what is airport? i've seen it in the apple store. but what exactly is it. purpose. what does it do?


    i'm a recent switcher. sorry i don't know too much. :confused:
     
  2. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #2
    Airport is just Apple's name for wifi (alias 802.11 networking). Your PB has an Airport Extreme (802.11g) card in it which if you're connecting at home wirelessly, is finding the network your current router is broadcasting.

    Apple also sell 2 Airport ethernet routers which is what I think you're talking about seeing in the Apple store; the Airport Extreme and the Airport Express.

    The Extreme is more expensive and slightly older. It looks like a UFO and allows up to 50 client computers. It's got a LAN ethernet port so you can have a wired computer hooked put it. It's also got a USB port which you can connect a printer too and then print wirelessly via Rendezvous.

    The Express came out in summer 2004. It's about the size of your PB powerbrick and slots directly into the wall. It can only support 10 clients and doesn't have a wired port. It does have the USB printer port and it has an audio out port. You can use the Express (wired to your stereo via that port) to transmit your iTunes music to your stereo - called Airtunes.
     
  3. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    I have a question about this too.

    Sorry *noob* question.. can the Express pick up your existing wireless signal and then pick that up and extend it farther?
     
  4. paperinacup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #4
    Yes.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5

    Assuming the original supports WDS.
     
  6. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    what the heck is WDS? I have a Linksys wireless G router
    something like wd54g is the model number or something like that
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    It stands for "wireless distribution system" and it's the standard that allows different wireless base stations to connect to the same network. I think it goes by a few other names though.

    As for whether your Linksys will work, sorry but I've had no experiences with them. However, off the top of my head I'd say it'll work. I seem to remember others on these forums who've had success.
     

Share This Page