Airport/Print Server Help

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by robbieduncan, Mar 6, 2003.

  1. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #1
    After hours and hours of trying I have almost managed to get a Linksys WPS11 (version 3) print server on my home network. Before I describe the problem(s) I am having I should probably describe the setup.

    I have a D-Link 16 port rack mounted 10/100 Mbs switch. This is linked by ethernet to an Airport (original Graphite model) base station. Also connected to the switch is a rack mounted PC running Windows 2000. This is connected to an Alcatel "frog" ADSL modem that connects to the outside world. This box is running Internet Connection Sharing and a firewall. I also have a dual boot Windows/Linux desktop machine connected to the Wired Switch. My laptop is an Apple iBook (800 Mhz) which is normally connected via Airport.

    I have just bought a Linksys WPS11 Wireless Print Server from eBay. The intention is to use this to server up my HP Deskjet 990 Cxi to the other machines over the network.

    Problem 1: I cannot get the print server to connect to the Airport Base Station. It can get on the network via the wired system. I have ensured that the Network Name (SSID), channel, WEP keys are the same and that the hardware address of the Print Server is in the access control list on the Base Station. I have also tried without Access Control or WEP in place.

    Problem 2 : As I cannot get wireless working I decided to try and get the system up and running in wired mode. I can get my desktop to print in both Windows (Net BIOS mode) and Linux (as a LPD queue on 192.168.0.7). But when my iBook is on wireless it cannot see the print server. But it can see both PCs fine. So there seems to be some sort of bridging problem between Airport and Wired Ethernet. Just to confirm this I plugged the iBook into the wired network. By using the CUPS web interface I was able to configure the printer as a remote LPD queue and it works.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. robbieduncan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I'm A Dumb Ass

    OK just about fixed it myself :D I realised what was happening. Basically the airport hub could not decide how to route packets as it could reach the print server through the wireless channel AND the wired one. I have removed the wired cable and everything can still see the print server. Printing not yet working though...
     
  3. robbieduncan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    All Working :)

    Just needed to restart the print server. It all works now.
     
  4. MaxArturo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    If Not Restart

    It's not always a restart problem, most of the time it's Printer IP and/or MAC adress
     

Share This Page