airport printer.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by martfb, Dec 13, 2005.

  1. martfb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #1
    I am using a lap top (ibook) and a desk top (iMac)and airport was printing just fine to my Samsung Laser printer. However I had to reinstall OSX and now I can't get it to print. My printer shows up and Airport is selected but then it can't find anything in auto, if I choose, other, my computer isn't in the list. I would love to get them to print using ariport again. Has anyone any thoughts? :confused:
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Did you reinstall OSX on both machines and now neither of them work with the printer or did you do it on one machine and the other one is still working? :)
     
  3. martfb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #3
    Hi, I reinstalled OSX on one machine and now both won't work. They show the same things in dialog box's. I've tried deleating printers and reinstalling. I've unpluged Ariport and printer and connected as it says turning on printer and plugging in before plugging in Ariport but I get the same thing. The box that says print using won't let me find my printer.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Does it work directly? If you plug the printer into a Mac, is it recognised and will it print? :)

    This is weird, it's always been plug-and-play for me. Hopefully it'll get fixed soon. :)
     
  5. martfb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #5
    Yes both work fine from USB it just airport where it won't work.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Sorry for all the questions, but have you updated the AirPort firmware from the Mac that had the reinstall? Perhaps the AirPort has lost the printer.

    In AirPort Admin Utility (Utilities folder) select your AirPort and in the Base Station Options, make sure that Enable Remote Printer Access is ticked. Then, select the USB Printer tab and see if your printer is there. :)
     
  7. martfb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #7
    Hi, thanks for that. I have checked for all softwear updates, is that what you mean? and am up to date. I did as you suggested and when I looked in the USB printer box there is no printer there should there be? and if so do you know how I find one to put in there? When I first plugged airport in it just worked so I didn't really pay much attention to the settings. I feel a bit stupid now.
     
  8. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #8
    First off, are you using an Airport Base Station, or a third party (ex.. Linksys, Belkin) wireless access point?

    The Firmware update mad jew is talking about, relates to the Base station product sold by Apple.
     
  9. martfb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #9
    yes I'm using Airport express. That's the name of the base station right? Its the one from apple not using a third party.
     
  10. martfb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #10
    have downloaded the firmwear and nothing seems to have changed. Have restarted computer unpluggeg Ariport and plugged it back in, its all still the same. Print Browers looks like this

    NAME Samsung ML-1510_700 Bonjour. (which is correct for the printer)

    LOCATION is airport express

    PRINT USING please select a driver or printer model

    If I use auto is just goes back to this or if I choose other it takes me to the hard drive where I have reinstalled the drivers, but I know it all works as it works with the USB. and in the list of printers Samsung isn't featured.

    any thoughts?
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Okay, well shall we start at the beginning. If I had to guess, I'd say that the computer you reinstalled OSX onto was the one you initially installed the printer drivers onto. If you still have the printer drivers CD, then reinstall them if you haven't already.


    Just to confirm, do these articles outline similar methods to the one you used?

    Connecting a USB printer to an AirPort.

    Sharing a USB printer from AirPort on Tiger.

    And if you're still not getting anywhere:

    Troubleshooting an AirPort USB printer.

    Hopefully you've accidentally missed a step in there somewhere and it's not a failing printer. :)
     
  12. martfb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #12
    Am just going though the unplugg thing again to see if that fixes anything. Nope

    If I plug the printer in using USB it just works so the drivers must be installed OK Yes? Besides which I have reinstalled them. Well when I say reinstalled I followed the insturction and did all the stuff it said including restart to finish instilation. To be honest I don't really understand drivers i just install them and cross my fingers and hope the computer knows what to look for. Do you think that deleating all printers and then plugging in to airport may help?
     
  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13

    If it's not too much of an inconvenience then I'd try it, but I certainly wouldn't hold me breath.
     

Share This Page