AirPort Printer

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Ajmbc, Mar 25, 2003.

  1. Ajmbc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    I have a computer (10.2) on a network hooked up to an AEBS. How do I print to the printer hooked up to the AEBS? (deskjet 5550)
    Thanks in advance
    =ajmbc=
     
  2. alset macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #2
    Install your printer drivers and turn on Printer Sharing in the Sharing pane of your System Preferences. Locate your printer in the Print Center utility. That should be it.

    Dan
     
  3. timbloom macrumors 6502a

    timbloom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    #3
    I don't know if AE works the same way, but I share a printer off of my powerbook, and my ibook auto-detects my epson automatically. I did not have to do any extra work to add it. I noticed this under Jaguar.
     
  4. Ajmbc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #4
    Okay...... Mabye a little confusion here. What I was saying is: Is there a way to access a supported printer on the USB port of the AEBS via the WAN port?
    =ajmbc=
     
  5. timbloom macrumors 6502a

    timbloom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    #5
    Is there a reason you are not using the LAN port? That port should be able to do it.
     
  6. Ajmbc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #6
    We are running the other comps off of WAN because we have an existing network.

    Our configuration is:

    Cable to switch
    switch to iMac and AEBS via wan
    AEBS wireless to iBook
    AEBS lan to XP
    AEBS Usb to HP DJ 5550.

    Whew! Now, my question is, how do I print from the iMac to the printer on the AEBS?

    =ajmbc=
     
  7. timbloom macrumors 6502a

    timbloom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    #7
    Try turning off the NAT routing function on the base station. See if that works.
     
  8. timbloom macrumors 6502a

    timbloom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    #8
    Also, turn off DHCP. With those two off, it should work. Theoretically....
     

Share This Page