Airport Problems : All Intel Models Affected.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MRU, Mar 4, 2006.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Well as been reported in threads earlier, the iMac Duo Core has for a very large amount of people, serious Airport connection problems.

    This can be slow downloads (though upload speed seems unaffected)
    Dropping of connection during file transfer, or on wake up after sleep...

    A number of posts/threads have appeared subsequently on Apples discussion forum.

    Following the the release of the macbookpro & new intel mini, early adopters are reporting the exact same problems.

    There definitely seems to be serious software problems at least with the new airport hardware in all the intel models.

    While some users have experienced no problem depending on their router/access point - they appear to be in the minority.

    Ethernet connections are NOT affected..

    We need a fix for this now Apple. Apparently they have acknowledged this and there are hundreds of open cases all over the world with apple about this problem. I'm hoping a software fix comes out soon, otherwise Apple are going to be in a very costly place if it turns out to be hardware......

    REV A problems... :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  2. asherman13 macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #2
    Really? I havent heard that. I could understand poor reception; the things are covered in aluminum with the exception of the hinge antenna plastic. Could the slowness on the MacBook Pro be attributed to poor reception?

    Also, does this only apply to when working with an Airport Express/Extreme base station? What about with other wireless routers/access points?
     
  3. XIII macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I can confirm these.

    My first Intel iMac had reconnection problems after sleep, and that really was a hardware problem. The second one they gave me doesn't have the problem, but it is sloooooow.

    We need a software fix, now.
     
  4. IanC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Essex
    #4
    The Intel macs have a different make of wireless card dont they?

    So it could be a driver issue.
     
  5. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5

    Airport Strength has nothing to do with it. My iMac reports 100% signal as it's only 12 feet away from Airport express but suffers the problem.

    MacBookPro, iMac & Mac mini all use the same new airport hence the common problem between them.

    People with only one computer, or no network are oblivious to the problem and hence they may be experiencing the problem but are unaware of it...

    Some people are connecting via ethernet and reporting they dont have the problem, but they wouldnt. Only Airprort connections are affected.....

    With 3 pieces or hardware now available suffering from this, Apple need to take their fingers out their asses and release a patch NOW.

    Intel recently released a patch for the same Airport hardware for windows to correct the same problems. We need them or Apple to do the same....
     
  6. MacRumoron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #6
    My MBP doesn't automatically connect to the airport express after waking from sleep. But when i connect my MBP to my HomePortal wirelessly, it is still connected after waking.

    Also, when using the airport express, downloading is really slow but i only get 1-2 bars from where i download stuff. When i go closer to the airport and get full bars downloading is normal.

    I don't know what my point is lol, just wanted to let everyone know maybe they can get something out of it :)
     
  7. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #7
    So is this gonna affect my 'borrowing' of my neighbors wireless signal when my MBP arrives or is it only gonna make it slower? ;)
     
  8. XIII macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Make it slower, until we get an Airport update.

    There was a lot of talk about various settings that could be changed to improve it wasn't there? Are any of those real? Do any actually work..?
     
  9. jwdawso macrumors regular

    jwdawso

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    #9
    Original Airport

    To add some confusion to the issue: I have a iMac 17" dual core that right now I have connected to an original Airport (802.11b); there are also two iBooks connected to the Airport. I never let the iMac sleep (I'm running folding@home). I have no connection/speed issues.
     
  10. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    some B access points are ok. But this is 2006 we shouldn't be limited in a manner like this.

    XIII - no mate, all those solutions don't do anything really. I've tried every permutation you could think off and no luck.
     
  11. wpwj40e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #11
    Over on Apple discussions - there are literally hundreds(actually thousands if you add in the various topics from all the intel models and 10.4.5 upgrade) of issues regarding the network.

    Here is a potential workaround that after trying it all - finally worked for me and others...might be worth a shot - it is a huge improvement. Unfortunately you do have to spend a few bucks($50)..


    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=387261&tstart=0
     
  12. XIII macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #12
    Saw one of those for very cheap on Amazon.. may just do that for a bit. Ho humm.

    And MacRumorUser.. damn. :(
     
  13. mark! macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #13
    my macbook pro runs like a Rev. Z with your logic. Rev. A my a s s.
     
  14. registered macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #14
    This issue is pretty annoying for me. I have a D-link 614+ and wireless worked with my iBook g4... unfortunately, it's dropping connections like mad with this Macbook Pro. Signal strength is full bars, just dropping connections like mad. I read somewhere Intel has already patched this issue for PCs, I'm hoping Apple is legitimately working to get this fixed on Macs... I miss laying on the bed surfing the net!
     
  15. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #15
    B seems better


    there doesn't seem to be the throughput problem, or link quality instability when switching to or using just B channels.
     
  16. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #16
    While I must be in some tiny minority, the AirPort on both my 17" Intellimac and my mini duo both work just fine. No issues. Whatsoever. Reception and throughput are better than that of my 12" PB (no champion there, I know... but I'm just saying they're fine).
     
  17. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Reception is no problem, signal strength can be maxed out.
    Have you tried www.speakeasy.net/speedtest and run one of their tests. Helps if you have another not intel mac to compare to, and if you know the speed you should be getting with your isp.

    Of course you could be in the minority that struck it lucky with your basestation/router. What make or model is it?
     
  18. richardv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #18
    Wow - I do have a problem!

    I signed up just so I could post about this!

    I've been on the phone to Apple for hours trying to get my Airport in my 20" Intel iMac back up to speed. On my home network, I'm getting download speeds of roughly 1/3 of what every other computer on the network.

    We tried everthing short of a repair (my nearest authorised repair centre is some 400 miles away), so in the end I bought an ethernet cable and am now wired to my router.

    Glad to know that this is not an isolated problem, and hopefully a fix will be available soon! Go apple, Go!
     
  19. BWhaler macrumors 68020

    BWhaler

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    #19
    My wife's Mac mini has the same problem.

    I hope it is a software problem so Apple can send us out a patch...
     
  20. buryyourbrideau macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #20
    I am sure this will be fixed in a software update in eh I say > 1 month
     
  21. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #21
    I'll run the tests later - heading out soon - but I see similar results with an AirPort Express and a Linksys WRT54 something-or-another - the Vonage model.
     
  22. MUCKYFINGERS macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #22
    Is this a hardware issue? If so, I guess people were right about Rev A machines always having some sort of problem . . .
     
  23. Aramis macrumors member

    Aramis

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    East Coast
    #23

    I had been noticing that my downloads and browsing (page loading with Cam, Saf, and FF) on my MBP have been very slow compared to my T42 ThinkPad, but I found that after running the speed tests the results are similar. Hmmm?

    Router: Netgear WGR614 v4

    T42 Results

    Last Result:
    Download Speed: 4780 kbps (597.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 347 kbps (43.4 KB/sec transfer rate)


    MBP Results

    Last Result:
    Download Speed: 4290 kbps (536.3 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 352 kbps (44 KB/sec transfer rate)


    I used both systems pretty much side my side all day and the prob appears to be intermittent on my MBP. Now im not quit certain what the issue is :confused: . Guess ill be waiting for a driver update.
     
  24. Max on Macs macrumors 6502

    Max on Macs

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    #24
    Hi there,

    I've read a lot about this. I just got my MacBook Pro like about an hour ago but I've done some tests downloading files and putting it on sleep and off again and don't seem to be having the issue, at least not right now. Does anyone know if thisissue would happen EVERY time (in which case it looks like I don't have it) or if it is a random thing (in which case I could have it)?

    Thanks
    Max
     
  25. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #25
    My MacBook Pro wireless reception is incredible. As a matter of fact, my PowerMac is connected through the airport (hardwired), and on a speed test my MBP was faster from 35 feet away than my PowerMac was being hardwired.
     

Share This Page