Airport & Startup issues on MP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by theblotted, Nov 21, 2006.

  1. theblotted macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    everytime i reboot my MP, the Airport Extremem doesn't detect my wireless internet.

    it doesn't turn off, just shows grey bars. i get back on wireless internet by clicking on it and select the wireless name.

    first few times, ok. after a few times, gets rather annoying. i made sure i selected "By default, join: __my wireless network__" in System Preference -> Network. still no avail.

    i repair permissions, fsck, cron script regularly.

    any other possible cures?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    There's a bug with some Intel machines but they have a relatively simple workaround.


    1. Open System Preferences and in the AirPort tab, select to join Preferred Networks.
    2. Remove all networks from this list.
    3. Close System Preferences and apply the changes.
    4. Reopen System Preferences and re-add your network(s).
    5. Optionally, you can change this back to Automatic now.


    Hopefully this works. :)
     
  3. theblotted thread starter macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    thanks for the insight!

    i just tried it out, and first time it didn't work. but after snooping around, i clicked options and selected "keep looking for recent networks".

    seems to be working for now. if it doesn't, i'll update here.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    No worries mate. FWIW, I haven't seen this issue on a Mac Pro yet, but hopefully the workaround will still be relevant. :)
     
  5. theblotted thread starter macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    i don't know if it's just my MacPro or if it's an Intel thing, but i've noticed some irregularities and mishaps.

    just a quick useage review from last week or so:

    -random External Firewire shutdowns (Lacie). HD on Desktop still shows, but when i click on them, i get serious beachballs. and after i turn on the Lacie again, Desktop says "Device Removal" error. and then it mounts again.

    -Mac Pro freezes after waking up from sleep. i'll leave it on for 3 hours, and when i come back, it'll work for mere 5 min, and then it'll completely freeze on me. only cure is the power button. didn't get this prob on my old G5.

    -not to mention kernal panics earlier on (don't have'em anymore, knock on wood), and still trying to figure out whether SCSI HD's spin volume is worth putting up with (or sell Cheetah & UL5D for another SATA).

    whether it's MacPro or Intel, still kinda bummer. but not enough to really make me stop using it daily tho.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Yeah, I know they've got teething problems, but that's pretty bad. Do you have third party RAM? If so, that may be causing the kernel panics and random freezing. What does it say in your Console? :)
     
  7. dusanv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #7
    My PowerBook does the same about once every 20 wake ups (I never put the desktops to sleep so I don't know about them). It's really annoying. And it started doing that after 10.4 install (could be a coincidence). I think that might be a software bug. There are folks having the same problem with new MacBook Pros.
     
  8. theblotted thread starter macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    i know it's not the RAM, but instead kernal panic's are from the M-Audio drivers. remember we confirmed it with my other "kernal panic" thread. it says so in the Console.

    not sure about random freezing tho.

    stranger, when i get kernal panics or freezing, and after restart, there's a message saying "report" which SHOULD show the console log. but when i click it, it never shows. i have to actually open console to see it.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9

    Ahh, sorry mate. I get all these kernel panic threads confused. :eek:

    I'm guess the M-Audio interface isn't plugged in when you get the freezing, right?



    You're really testing my memory here, but doesn't report just send it to Apple rather than show you the Console? :eek:



    Anyway, Finder struggles with external/network drives sometimes and if you haven't used it for a while, the drive can sometimes stop spinning. When you double click on the icon on your Desktop, it must spin up before Finder will let you do anything. This is a bug in Finder, but shouldn't cripple your system for more than half a minute, at most. If this isn't the problem, then use Disk Utility in the Utilities folder to verify and maybe repair your external drive.

    Also, just to confirm, are your interfaces unplugged when you get this random freezing after sleeping?


    Sorry for the messy post but it's kinda difficult doing this over two threads. I know it's not your fault because these started out as separate problems, but I'm starting to think they're all related. :eek:
     
  10. theblotted thread starter macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    no probs man:) let's see, in order of your Q's...

    no kernal panics without M-Audio connected. but freezing, yes.

    the "Report" thing says, IIRC, "click 'report' if you want to see log and also will be sent to Apple". something of that extent. otherwise, i wouldn't even budge about it.

    strange about the external drives stop spinning and disconnects itself, esp only on my new MP. never once did it do this on G5. btw, i repair drive/permissions pretty religiously..

    since i got MP, i haven't done Terminal command for "sudo pmset -a spindown 0". i just wanna preserve my HD a bit longer, and enjoy quietness of idle computer. perhaps this is the reason why it takes a while to wake up MP. i'll give it a whirl sometimes.

    no, interface not disconnected when freezing occurs; it's connected at all times.

    i hope it's a related problem.. but something tells me it's not...

    ....i just noticed that i hijacked my own thread silly. oh well.
     
  11. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #11
    LaCie drives goes into standby mode after a period of no-usage (which is understandable). And when you try to access it in standby there would be a brief period in which the drive needs to wake-up and be usable, that is why you get a beachball. It means "Please wait while the drive is waking up" :).
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12

    Yeah, at a guess, that's the reason Finder sometimes struggles to open you external drive after you haven't used it for a while. Depending on the drive and the enclosure though, it shouldn't take too long to get back up and running.

    I don't know how much you use your Mac Pro for non-audio work, but maybe try disconnecting all interfaces (M-Audio and the RME Fireface thingo) for a day and seeing whether it freezes at all. It might even help to take out the PCIe card, but don't do this just yet. If it freezes when both interfaces are unplugged, then try removing that PCIe card. :)
     
  13. theblotted thread starter macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    i can understand the "standby mode", but how about having LaCie drive completely shut down? the light turns off, and you can literally hear the drive shut off (click, whirrrrrrrrr.......slows.....down..... stops.).

    and strangely, the icons of LaCie drive is still on Desktop. i'm almost positive this is a bug, cuz again, it never happened with my G5. because the beachball basically never stops until i press the power button on LaCie again.

    then MP finally realizes what's going on, unmounts the LaCie drive from Desktop, saying it's my fault that "Disk is Disconnected without ejecting" or something (forgot the exact phrase), then since LaCie is looking for MP, it mounts again.

    it shouldn't take too long is right. but it does.

    i almost never use MP for non-audio, still trying to get mileage out of my TiBook:D it's hard to read MP on my couch.

    perhaps i should try tho. since it's close to holiday season, i'm getting swamped. once the vacation comes...
     

Share This Page