Airport / Wi-Fi status bar constantly searching in Lion + shows connected time...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by john.burn, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    #1
    As above,

    Anyone else getting this? I have made sure that both options are not selected - i.e. show time connected and show status while connecting - nothing stops the connected time from showing or the 'radar' from being constantly animated.

    John.


    MBP 2.8, mid 2009.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    ...
    #3
    same here while I'm using Time Capsule
    but i also tired to connect to iphone's personal hotspot, it worked fine. showing no connected time.


    i wonder if you use airport extreme/time capsule as well.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #4
    There is definitely some Airport bugs. After my MacBook Air is sleep for a long period of time (maybe hibernating?), and then I wake it up, my network connection fails to work. It shows that I am still connected to my Airport Base Station, and the only way to fix it is to turn off Airport and then turn it back on.

    Don't have the same issue you are having though.

    So yeah, bugs, go figure it is a beta after all.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    #5
    Yep, I have an AEBS. It connects and stays connected without issue... just the bar is constantly animating itself - maybe this is 'normal'. Does your radar bar still animate when you're connected to the iPhone hotspot?

    John.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    ...
    #6
    the bar stops searching when its connected to the iphone hotspot /other non apple wireless router.

    issue with airport extreme/time capsule i guess
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #7
    seems only happen with with time capsule, no issue with TPlink router in my office
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #8
    Same here. I'm using a time capsule. Lion keeps searching WIFI and always shows the connected time.
    That's all ok for me as long as I can actually access the network. But I guess I hit something even worse, my VPN connection keeps dropping because "network configuration has changed", does that mean it's not just searching, it actually does re-joining or something underneath? :p:p:p
    Hope it's a known issue.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #9
    Then both of you should do your part by filing bug reports with Apple. I assume that's why you're running Lion, right?
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #10
    That's the problem...I think many people are downloading lion for the fun of it. That's where you get lost data and headaches. The pre-release is for bug testing, not necessarily amusement.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #11
    I agree. Too many people are downloading Lion and then asking technical support questions about it.

    If you can't/won't file a bug report, you shouldn't be running this.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #12
    It is amusing to read posts that sound like the question is about a product that has been released to the public. :)
     
  13. ErikGrim, Feb 28, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011

    macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #13
    Same issue here running the original AirPort Extreme Basestation. Had to remove the menu item (since I only connect to the one network it wasn't needed much in the first place).

    EDIT: Appears to be a bug with using your AEBS to connect with PPPoE. Try using your modem to do the PPPoE connection instead and bridge the connection to the AEBS instead.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Tailpike1153

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    #14
    Indeed. But it good to see that people are excited about the OS. I don't remember seeing this amount of chatter over Vista. Windows 7 maybe (because so many people hated Vista). I can't speak to the *nix distros.

    Hopefully Apple as planted spies of MR and other forums and is raking over the feedback. Once it fixes these bugs, the final product will most likely be the most refined OS in the history of personal computing.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    #15
    I've have officially obtained the developer release from my paid for developer account, I was only wondering if anyone had experienced the issue - Apple's own forum's for Lion are a bit... hmmmm, well this site is better organised I think. And there was no mention of this issue there either. :)

    It could have been that Apple had chosen to animate the radar bar, but as it seems it's only AEBS / Time Capsule and how the modem is connecting etc. then it's clearly a bug now and I'll be submitting it as such. :)
     
  16. macrumors 603

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #16
    I see no issue with people getting ahead buy dl Lion and learning the pros/con of the new os and gaining some early education.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #17
    Neither do I. But the purpose of the beta is to work out bugs...if everyone dl's lion for the fun of it they will (1) Be frustrated with the beta version and complain and ask for assistance (2) Not file bug reports to get things fixed. Developers have enough to do than to create walkthroughs for people that shouldn't be using a beta release anyways.
     

Share This Page