airport - wifi no 5.ghz ?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by sascha h-k, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    sascha h-k

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    vienna / austria
    #1
    got someone wifi (airport) running with 5ghz (n) with 10.7 ?

    when i try to connect the mbp to my 5.ghz net, lion says no net ..
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    qubex

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Location:
    045°042'21.99"N, 009°005'056.57"E
    #2
    Likewise, same situation: 10.7 developer preview, 802.11n network at 5GHz no dice.

    On two machines (MacBookPro 13" and MacBookAir 11").

    Clearly a flaw. I'm almost relived to find somebody else is experiencing the same problem. It means they'll fix it at some point. :cool:
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #3
    yeah,i have it on 5gz,go to airport utility-wireless press option key then go to radio mode and will give u many options
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #5
    SSID issue?

    Clean install (not upgraded) on '10 MacBook Air seems to join the 5GHz network only if it is advertising the SSID (i.e. closed network is not ticked in advanced settings on the AirPort Extreme). As soon as I check the 'closed network' box, only the 2.4GHz network can be found and joined. Note that I use a different wifi network name/SSID for 2.4GHz and 5Ghz - both are added to the MBA wireless networks profile list.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    My (Late) 2007 Macbook Pro with an upgraded install to the developer preview of Lion has no problem seeing and connecting to my 5GHz 802.11n network from my dual band airport extreme.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #7
    Are you advertising your SSID (by default) or have you selected 'closed' on the AirPort Utility app? (see my previous post)
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    #8
    I clean-installed the Lion dev preview on a new iMac today. During the OS X setup process, I couldn't connect to my dual-band AirPort's 5GHz network (the network is "closed" / hidden SSID). But, after the setup process, I was able to connect to the same network through the Network prefpane.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
    Im advertising my SSID, it is not set as closed.
     

Share This Page