airport works ok, then disappears

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by maikeru, May 16, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #1
    new to mac

    just got a 17" pb with 2gb ram

    airport works OK but is very slow

    bigger problem is that sometimes the base station disappears. i am unable to find it in the airport manager utility

    when i reboot the airport is recognized again.

    i dumped windows to get away from this nonsense. please help.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    In the apple store, in front of a G5.
    #2
    are you using the latest version of software/firmware?

    How far away are you?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    If all else fails, give Apple a call. Maybe you got a defective base station/card?

    Good luck,
    JOD8FY
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    Although my airport basestation is really an emac, I get this same problem. Not that it's slow, but that it randomly dissapears; it's the weirdest thing. This isn't the nature of computer base-stationing, is it?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #5
    i've got all the latest....


    I've got all the latest updates. Actually went to the Apple store in Ginza to get all the latest and greatest updates. PB is brand new and the base station is the extreme version.

    I'm not terribly far....maybe 10 meters away (with a wall between).
    Regarding the distance, have not had trouble with this setup on other computers.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #6
    I had a similar problem with my Apple Extreme Base Station and my iBook - was ready to toss the whole set-up until I found this article:resetting AEBS and followed it's advice. I haven't had any trouble since.

    When someone first suggested it, I didn't think it sound like the right solution, but I knew my iBook was working, I could get onto the network at the airport and one of my neighbors has an unprotected network that I can access with no problem. Resetting the AEBS worked - it's worth a try anyway.

    HTH M
     
  7. macrumors member

    DaBuzz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Error Message?

    Are you getting a particular error message (such as "There was an error joining network <<Airport Network Name>>")?
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    Have you tried iStumbler or macStumbler to see if there is another BaseStation close by. If there is another BS operating on the same channel as yours then you could loose your connection every time there is traffic on the other network due to interference...
     

Share This Page