Alias and command line switches

Discussion in 'macOS' started by asmith3006, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. asmith3006 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    #1
    Hi
    I'm trying to run Opera in Kiosk mode which means I need to execute
    Applications/Opera.app/Contents/MacOS/Opera -kioskmode
    I also want this to start up when user PublicUser logs on.

    How do I go about this? I tried making an alias to Opera but can't find out how to add command line switches to it.

    I've tried Mac support and after 40 minutes was told "Why don't you try a forum sir?" very helpful.

    Thanks for any and all help

    Andrew.
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    You could try the following:
    (Actions are "quoted" to hopefully make it more readable...)

    create a simple script:
    - in Terminal.app:

    - add the following lines:
    - save and quit (CTRL-O <ENTER>, CTRL-X)

    - now change the permissions:
    Add this to the login items, and I hope it works. I haven't got Opera installed, but it should work.

    Good luck.:)
     
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    I have attached an Applescript application that will launch Opera in kiosk mode. Just unzip, put it in Applications folder, and add as a LoginItem. Enjoy!

    For those wondering, its a simple one liner
    Code:
    do shell script "exec /Applications/Opera.app/Contents/MacOS/Opera -k"
     

    Attached Files:

  4. asmith3006 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    #4
    That's excellent thank you!

    How do I make my own Apple Scripts? Which program do you use to make them? I need to add in some more switches to make it work exactly as I want and I'd prefer to learn how to do it myself.

    Thanks :)
     
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    Script Editor - Which I think is in Applications/Applescript.

    http://developer.apple.com/applescript/
     
  6. asmith3006 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    #6
    How did you make it have the Opera icon? When I run one I made I get an apple script icon and then the opera icon afterwards whereas yours is just the opera icon..
     

Share This Page