OS X All about BF3 on new iMac 27

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Jindra12, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #1
    Hello all,

    I would like to pull all info from all over into this thread, specifically BF3 running on the newer iMac 27, so everyone have the same information and to be updated with new info.

    I have seen people asking the common questions related with the BF3 running newer iMac:

    Should I run bootcamp in order to run BF3?
    Yes because it requires to run 100% of iMac's hardware to support the BF3's gaming demand.

    What kind of Window OS should I use to bootcamp?
    (please provide the answer in the comment)

    What is the average FPS for iMac with i7, 8GB Ram, 680MX?
    I believe it is between 45 to 60 FPS on high setting with naive screen, in accordance what I have read somewhere in this forum.

    If you have any questions or recommendations/tips for us to optimize the BF3 gaming experience then please leave the comments in this thread.

    Happy hunting,

    Eric
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #2
    BF3 is actually very well optimized. I'm not sure what my frame rate was but I had it at 2880x1800 maxed out and it was some what playable. If it wasn't a shooter it would have been more than fine. Generally any game that is made for the consoles as well can play on any newer mac.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    UCD, Ireland
    #3
    I run BF3 at native resolution on my mid 2011 27 inch iMac with Sandy bridge i7 3.4Ghz quad core, 8Gb ram and a Ati HD 6970m 2GB.

    This gives me a solid 40fps at 2560x1440 and High settings. :D

    The newer 27 inches should run it far better again so a solid performance is to be expected no doubt. :)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #4
    What kind of OX do you recommend for bootcamp? XP, Win 7, or Win 8 with 64 BIT?
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #5
    Win Xp don't work anymore on newer macs.
    And 32 bit is not using all your ram either, so you're stuck with WIn 7 64 bit, or maybe win8.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #6
    Windows 7 64 bit for sure.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #7
    Don't they say that the GTX680MX should perform somewhat near the desktop GTX 680?

    Well, in my Hackintosh I'm running a GTX 680 SuperClocked from EVGA and I'm getting 100FPS on average (1920x1200 settings all Ultra).
    Not quite near the 45-60FPS...
     

Share This Page