All handbrake content is choppy

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by alehel, May 2, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #1
    I'm having problems with doing my handbrake rips. Almost all my films look choppy. I suspect that handbrake is getting the fps of the video wrong. I'm using the builtin apple tv preset. Has anyone else had this problem?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Set the FPS to e.g. 30 and try again (with the original, not the rip as it has already been modified)
     
  3. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Open one or three of them in the QuickTime Player and then open the Movie Inspector via CMD+I to see their details.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Report back with the settings seen there and we might give you a solution.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #4
    This is interesting. Quicktime isn't reporting on the fps at all. Could it be that it's unable to find the correct fps and is therefore reverting to the wrong fps as a result?

    Another thing I noticed is that it's not showing the fact that it also has an AC3 passthrough file which I know it does. I chose it during the encode, and it's also available when viewing on the apple tv.

    Also, I've watched several HD trailers on the Apple TV and none of them have an issue with choppiness.
     

    Attached Files:

    • img.jpg
      img.jpg
      File size:
      12.7 KB
      Views:
      1,858
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #5
    Just found this on the HandBrake wiki.

    Guess I just need to experiment a bit.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    Ac3 is shown as the second track in "Movie Properties" called Surround. Click on that track and at the bottom it will show all of the channel assignments.

    As far as choppiness my guess is that for some reason your player (presumably quicktime) is dropping frames for some reason (could be it can not keep up, or some other reason). Tough to say as you really do not give much info as to what your using for playback.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #7
    I have been trying to encode an MKV for AppleTV of Gladiator made from the Blu-Ray for about a month. It was always stuttering, unwatchable. I thought it had something to do with bit rate. So, I made it smaller and smaller, but it still stuttered. Finally, I set the fps to 24 and it was smooth, I even maxed out the picture at 1720x720 Anamorphic and it looked great. Reading this thread, it might look even better if I "hard" select 23.98 instead.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #8
    Woops, thought I mentioned that. I'm using an Apple TV, but seeing exactly the same problem on my Macbook Pro with C2D 2.5 GHz using both quicktime and VLC.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #9
    tough to say without seeing a hb activity log, like we require on the hb forums.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #10
    Well, I set the frame rate myself. Looks like it solved the problem. Thanks for all the tips and advice guys.
     

Share This Page