all this talk about Tibook next week, but where's the IBOOK?

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by GeorgeC97, Apr 25, 2002.

1. GeorgeC97 macrumors newbie

well, it seems like the new Tibook should be expected next week... and that's fine and dandy, provided you are willing to spend close to 3 grand on a laptop (tax, shipping, case, extra ram etc) --- that's just a bit too much for a 'non-professional' user (in my opinion). (btw - I'm a medical student -- i really need it for running AOL, internet exploror, powerpoint, word, and Palm desktop mostly)

But when is the ibook going to come out for the rest of us? do you know anything about this, "educational sale," so that it HAS to come out before July? Would it be significant, or is the extra $1000 really worth it? This whole G3 thing is confusing to me -- really, i don't any graphic editing etc... but then when i see all the PC laptops my friends are getting (now P4!) -- certainly a P4 will last them easily the next 3+ years... but could I expect to get the same longevity out of a G3?

I want an Ibook so badly (seems perfect), but I don't want to be left in the dust 1 year from now... with a cool looking laptop, but just ancient. Granted i don't need speed toooo much, but I'd like a "zippy" computer.

any opinions from the mac veterans out there?

Oh yeah -- the above programs I mentioned -- with the ibook - would I have problems if ALL of those programs were open at the same time? I go back and forth btwn Office applications and the internet (AOL and IE) and even my palm. would i have to wait for screen redraws?? anyone know this?

thanks all !
    ------------------------------
    *I started off on an apple II C then Mac SE, then the Color classic - before switching to PC hell for the last 9 years... it's time for me to go back ! i can't wait.

2. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|

3. Grokgod macrumors 6502a

Grokgod

Do not buy a G3, anything!